Clarksville, TN PD Citizen Complaints

Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer filed this request with the Clarksville Police Department of Clarksville, TN.
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Alexander Cartwright

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to Tennessee's Public Records Act, I hereby request the following records:

1. What is the total number of citizen complaints made against your department’s officers annually for the last 10 years?

Please include the type of complaint (i.e., use of force, abuse language, unwarranted search) and the result of complaint (i.e., sustained, exonerated).

2. What is the total number of complaints police officers made against their peer officers in department annually for the last 10 years?

Please include the type of complaint (i.e., use of force, abuse language, unwarranted search) and the result of complaint (i.e., sustained, exonerated).

3. What is the total number of calls for service your department received annually for the past 10 years?

4. What is the number of officers involved in shootings in your department for the past 10 years?

Please include the number of officer-involved shootings resulting in discipline.

5. Which of the above data are published publicly? Please provide a link to any and all publicly available reports containing the data above.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 7 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Alexander Cartwright

From: Heather Fleming

Mr. Cartwright -

The City of Clarksville Police Department is in receipt of your
request for records. A copy of your request is attached hereto for
reference.

Under Tennessee law, pursuant to the Public Records Act,
*Tennessee
Code Annotated* §10-7-503 et seq., any *citizen of this state* may request
to inspect public records as defined therein. This law does not apply to
out-of-state residents; therefore, your request is being denied.

If you have any questions, please direct them to my attention.

Heather F. S. Fleming

*Staff Attorney – Mayor’s Office*

City of Clarksville

One Public Square

Clarksville TN 37040

Phone 931.553-2463 <(931)%20553-2463>

Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com

From: Heather Fleming

Mr. Purvis - Please contact me to discuss delivery of the requested
documents.

Heather F. S. Fleming

*Interim Chief of Staff *

City of Clarksville

One Public Square

Clarksville TN 37040

Phone 931.553-2463

Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com

From: MuckRock

Hello Ms. Fleming,

It would be greatly appreciated if materials could be delivered via one of three methods: the link at the very bottom of this email, which will direct you to page by which you may upload records directly; email to the address requests@muckrock.com; or mailed to MuckRock at the address DEPT MR 40205, 411A Highland Avenue, Somerville, MA 02144.

Thank you so much for your help, and please let me know if you have anything else with which we can help.

Best wishes,
Beryl, MuckRock

From: Heather Fleming

You will need to give me an address to send the documents.

Heather F. S. Fleming

*Interim Chief of Staff *

City of Clarksville

One Public Square

Clarksville TN 37040

Phone 931.553-2463

Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

Hello Ms. Fleming,

It would be greatly appreciated if materials could be delivered via one of three methods: the link at the very bottom of this email, which will direct you to page by which you may upload records directly; email to the address requests@muckrock.com; or mailed to MuckRock at the address DEPT MR 40205, 411A Highland Avenue, Somerville, MA 02144.

Thank you so much for your help, and please let me know if you have anything else with which we can help.

Best wishes,
Beryl, MuckRock

From: Heather Fleming

I have already sent the documents to Carlton Purvis as I had not gotten a
response from you.

Heather F. S. Fleming

*Interim Chief of Staff *

City of Clarksville

One Public Square

Clarksville TN 37040

Phone 931.553-2463

Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com

From: Beryl Lipton

Hello Ms. Fleming,

The materials haven't yet been received at the Tennessee address. I will let you know if they do.

Thank you!
Beryl, MuckRock

From: MuckRock

Hello Ms. Fleming,

Could you please confirm the address to which these materials were sent? There hasn't been anything received at the Memphis address.

Thanks so much.

From: Heather Fleming

It was sent to
Carlton Purvis

104 Sawyer Circle, Apt. 486

Memphis, TN 38103

Heather F. S. Fleming

*Chief of Staff / Public Records Request Coordinator*

City of Clarksville

One Public Square

Clarksville TN 37040

Phone 931.553-2463

Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com

From: MuckRock

Hello Ms. Fleming,

If the materials are returned to your office, could you please send them either to the MuckRock address that was previously referenced or to the following Tennessee address?

Thanks so much for your help!
Beryl, MuckRock

1353 Vance Ave Apt. 2
Memphis, TN 38104

From: Heather Fleming

Please find attached the documents responsive to your request.

Heather F. S. Fleming

*Chief of Staff / Public Records Request Coordinator*

City of Clarksville

One Public Square

Clarksville TN 37040

Phone 931.553-2463

Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com

From: Heather Fleming

Please see attached additional documentation responsive to your request.

Heather F. S. Fleming

*Chief of Staff / Public Records Request Coordinator*

City of Clarksville

One Public Square

Clarksville TN 37040

Phone 931.553-2463 <(931)%20553-2463>

Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Charles Gill <charles.gill@cityofclarksville.com>
Date: Tue, Sep 5, 2017 at 2:17 PM
Subject: Re: Public Records Act Request: Clarksville, TN PD Citizen
Complaints
To: Heather Fleming <heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com>

I forgot to add these 4 for 2016 info. Sorry

Sgt. Charles Gill
Clarksville Police Department
135 Commerce Street
Clarksville, TN 37040
(931) 648-0656 ext. 5232 <(931)%20648-0656>
(931) 320-2702

On Tue, Sep 5, 2017 at 9:21 AM, Charles Gill <charles.gill@cityofclarksvill
e.com> wrote:

> I believe this is what I gave you last time.
>
> Sgt. Charles Gill
> Clarksville Police Department
> 135 Commerce Street
> Clarksville, TN 37040
> (931) 648-0656 ext. 5232 <(931)%20648-0656>
> (931) 320-2702
>
> On Tue, Sep 5, 2017 at 8:20 AM, Heather Fleming <
> heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com> wrote:
>
>> Sgt. Gill - Can you provide the records you gave me on this request
>> again? I mailed them and they say they did not receive them. I didn't keep
>> copies because I knew CPD would always have copies. Thanks!
>>
>> Heather F. S. Fleming
>>
>> *Chief of Staff / Public Records Request Coordinator*
>>
>> City of Clarksville
>>
>> One Public Square
>>
>> Clarksville TN 37040
>>
>> Phone 931.553-2463 <(931)%20553-2463>
>>
>> Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com
>>
>>
>>
>> ---------- Forwarded message ----------
>> From: <requests@muckrock.com>
>> Date: Thu, Aug 31, 2017 at 3:03 PM
>> Subject: RE: Public Records Act Request: Clarksville, TN PD Citizen
>> Complaints
>> To: heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com
>>
>>
>>
>> August 31, 2017
>> Clarksville Police Department
>> Clarksville Police Department
>> Al Rivers Ansley, Chief of Police
>> 135 Commerce St
>> 37040 Clarksville, Tennessee
>>
>> This is a follow up to a previous request:
>>
>> Hello Ms. Fleming,
>>
>> If the materials are returned to your office, could you please send them
>> either to the MuckRock address that was previously referenced or to the
>> following Tennessee address?
>>
>> Thanks so much for your help!
>> Beryl, MuckRock
>>
>> 1353 Vance Ave Apt. 2
>> Memphis, TN 38104
>> ---
>>
>
> On Aug. 17, 2017:
>> It was sent to
>> Carlton Purvis
>>
>> 104 Sawyer Circle, Apt. 486
>>
>> Memphis, TN 38103
>>
>> Heather F. S. Fleming
>>
>> *Chief of Staff / Public Records Request Coordinator*
>>
>> City of Clarksville
>>
>> One Public Square
>>
>> Clarksville TN 37040
>>
>> Phone 931.553-2463 <(931)%20553-2463>
>>
>> Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com
>> ---
>>
>> On Aug. 17, 2017:
>> Hello Ms. Fleming,
>>
>> Could you please confirm the address to which these materials were sent?
>> There hasn't been anything received at the Memphis address.
>>
>> Thanks so much.
>> ---
>>
>> On Aug. 8, 2017:
>> Hello Ms. Fleming,
>>
>> The materials haven't yet been received at the Tennessee address. I will
>> let you know if they do.
>>
>> Thank you!
>> Beryl, MuckRock
>> ---
>>
>
> On Aug. 1, 2017:
>> I have already sent the documents to Carlton Purvis as I had not gotten a
>> response from you.
>>
>> Heather F. S. Fleming
>>
>> *Interim Chief of Staff *
>>
>> City of Clarksville
>>
>> One Public Square
>>
>> Clarksville TN 37040
>>
>> Phone 931.553-2463 <(931)%20553-2463>
>>
>> Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com
>> ---
>>
>> On July 31, 2017:
>> Hello Ms. Fleming,
>>
>> It would be greatly appreciated if materials could be delivered via one
>> of three methods: the link at the very bottom of this email, which will
>> direct you to page by which you may upload records directly; email to the
>> address requests@muckrock.com; or mailed to MuckRock at the address DEPT
>> MR 40205, 411A Highland Avenue, Somerville, MA 02144.
>>
>> Thank you so much for your help, and please let me know if you have
>> anything else with which we can help.
>>
>> Best wishes,
>> Beryl, MuckRock
>> ---
>>
>> On July 24, 2017:
>> You will need to give me an address to send the documents.
>>
>> Heather F. S. Fleming
>>
>> *Interim Chief of Staff *
>>
>> City of Clarksville
>>
>> One Public Square
>>
>> Clarksville TN 37040
>>
>> Phone 931.553-2463 <(931)%20553-2463>
>>
>> Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com
>> ---
>>
>> On July 24, 2017:
>> Hello Ms. Fleming,
>>
>> It would be greatly appreciated if materials could be delivered via one
>> of three methods: the link at the very bottom of this email, which will
>> direct you to page by which you may upload records directly; email to the
>> address requests@muckrock.com; or mailed to MuckRock at
>> the address DEPT MR 40205, 411A Highland Avenue, Somerville, MA 02144.
>>
>> Thank you so much for your help, and please let me know if you have
>> anything else with which we can help.
>>
>> Best wishes,
>> Beryl, MuckRock
>> ---
>>
>> On July 24, 2017:
>> Mr. Purvis - Please contact me to discuss delivery of the requested
>> documents.
>>
>> Heather F. S. Fleming
>>
>> *Interim Chief of Staff *
>>
>> City of Clarksville
>>
>> One Public Square
>>
>> Clarksville TN 37040
>>
>> Phone 931.553-2463 <(931)%20553-2463>
>>
>> Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com
>> ---
>>
>> On July 19, 2017:
>> Mr. Cartwright -
>>
>> The City of Clarksville Police Department is in receipt of your
>> request for records. A copy of your request is attached hereto for
>> reference.
>>
>> Under Tennessee law, pursuant to the Public Records Act,
>> *Tennessee
>> Code Annotated* §10-7-503 et seq., any *citizen of this state* may request
>> to inspect public records as defined therein. This law does not apply to
>> out-of-state residents; therefore, your request is being denied.
>>
>> If you have any questions, please direct them to my attention.
>>
>> Heather F. S. Fleming
>>
>> *Staff Attorney – Mayor’s Office*
>>
>> City of Clarksville
>>
>> One Public Square
>>
>> Clarksville TN 37040
>>
>> Phone 931.553-2463 <(931)%20553-2463> <(931)%20553-2463>
>>
>> Heather.fleming@cityofclarksville.com
>> ---
>>
>> On July 19, 2017:
>> To Whom It May Concern:
>>
>> Pursuant to Tennessee's Public Records Act, I hereby request the
>> following records:
>>
>> 1. What is the total number of citizen complaints made against your
>> department’s officers annually for the last 10 years?
>>
>> Please include the type of complaint (i.e., use of force, abuse language,
>> unwarranted search) and the result of complaint (i.e., sustained,
>> exonerated).
>>
>> 2. What is the total number of complaints police officers made against
>> their peer officers in department annually for the last 10 years?
>>
>> Please include the type of complaint (i.e., use of force, abuse language,
>> unwarranted search) and the result of complaint (i.e., sustained,
>> exonerated).
>>
>> 3. What is the total number of calls for service your department received
>> annually for the past 10 years?
>>
>> 4. What is the number of officers involved in shootings in your
>> department for the past 10 years?
>>
>> Please include the number of officer-involved shootings resulting in
>> discipline.
>>
>> 5. Which of the above data are published publicly? Please provide a link
>> to any and all publicly available reports containing the data above.
>>
>> The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and
>> this request is not being made for commercial purposes.
>>
>> In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform
>> me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer
>> the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or
>> CD-ROM if not.
>>
>> Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I
>> look forward to receiving your response to this request within 7 business
>> days, as the statute requires.
>>
>> Sincerely,
>>
>> Alexander Cartwright
>>
>> ------
>> Filed via MuckRock.com
>> E-mail (Preferred): requests@muckrock.com
>> Upload documents directly: https://www.muckrock.com/accou
>> nts/agency_login/clarksville-police-department-8967/clarksvi
>> lle-tn-pd-citizen-complaints-40205/?email=heather.fleming%40
>> cityofclarksville.com&uuid-login=297ca164-a378-4921-b018-56d
>> 5e6b2d4a7#agency-reply
>> Is this email coming to the wrong contact? Something else wrong? Use the
>> above link to let us know.
>>
>> For mailed responses, please address (see note):
>> MuckRock
>> DEPT MR 40205
>> 411A Highland Ave
>> Somerville, MA 02144-2516
>>
>> PLEASE NOTE: This request is not filed by a MuckRock staff member, but is
>> being sent through MuckRock by the above in order to better track, share,
>> and manage public records requests. Also note that improperly addressed
>> (i.e., with the requester's name rather than "MuckRock News" and the
>> department number) requests might be returned as undeliverable.
>> ------
>>
>>
>>
>

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

Hi,

Thanks so much for your help with this request! I really appreciate it.

Sincerely,
Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

Files

pages

Close