MuckRock Foundation

The MuckRock Foundation manages the day-to-day operations of five different sites and services. In addition to MuckRock, they also run DocumentCloud, oTranscribe, FOIA Machine, and Quackbot.

Cofounder Michael Morisy is MuckRock’s chief executive. He was previously an editor at the Boston Globe, where he launched the paper's technology vertical BetaBoston. He is currently a 2018-19 nonresidential fellow at Reynolds Journalism Institute at the University of Missouri. He was a 2014-15 John S. Knight Journalism Fellow at Stanford University and a 2012-13 Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics Network Fellow at Harvard University. He graduated in 2007 from Cornell University with a degree in English. He can be reached at

Cofounder Mitchell Kotler is the site's lead developer and site architect. He is a veteran of multiple technology companies and startups, including AMD, Achronix, and eProvenance. He graduated magna cum laude with a Bachelors degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Cornell University in 2007, and earned a Masters Degree from Cornell in 2008. You can contact him at / PGP Key.

Projects Editor / Senior Reporter Beryl C.D. Lipton is motivated by the inefficiencies that hinder a progressive democracy. She studied the History and Literature of America at Harvard College and likes to play with patterns and narrative constructions. Any and all may be in touch about any and all at

Office Manager / Operations Lead Kiera Murray studied journalism at Emerson College and has worked as a community reporter for local publications in Boston. She currently works to make sure public records requests are sent, received, and fulfilled efficiently. She can be reached at
Dylan Freedman leads development of DocumentCloud and oTranscribe. He is motivated by using technology to help journalists and the public share and consume information better. He earned a B.A. in computer science and music from Harvard University and a master’s in journalism at Stanford, with a stint researching machine perception at Google in-between. Reach out to him at or @dylfreed.
FOIA Specialist Russ Kick has filed thousands of public-records requests since 2002, when he started the transparency website The Memory Hole. Now he runs the follow-up site, AltGov2, and its spin-off, Animal Info Sanctuary. Russ's biggest scores include getting Pentagon-banned photos of flag-draped military coffins via FOIA, posting MLK's entire FBI file, and uncovering ICE's plans to destroy documents about deaths and rapes of people in custody. A Vanderbilt doctoral drop-out, he's written five books and edited twelve anthologies, including "The Graphic Canon" series and "You Are Being Lied To." He's at and @thememoryhole2.

MuckRock Board Members

Board president Cori Zarek works on technology and policy projects with a goal of helping governments better serve the public. She is the Director of the Digital Service Collaborative at the Georgetown Beeck Center for Social Impact + Innovation and previously served as the Deputy U.S. Chief Technology Officer. Before launching this project, Cori led the principles and practices work for Code for America and was a Mozilla fellow. From 2013-2017 at the White House, Cori advised the U.S. Chief Technology Officer and led the team's work to build a more digital, open, and collaborative government including helping to stand up and support the U.S. Digital Service, 18F and the Presidential Innovation Fellows. Cori also led the U.S. government's development and implementation of commitments to the Open Government Partnership. Previously, Cori was a freedom of information attorney at the U.S. National Archives, and before that, at the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press where she worked on free press, free expression, and freedom of information issues.

Board vice president Jim Neff is the deputy managing editor of Philadelphia Media Network. He has written five nonfiction books, including his most recent, Vendetta: Bobby Kennedy vs. Jimmy Hoffa. Previously he was investigations editor at The Seattle Times, where he oversaw the series “Methadone and the Politics of Pain," winner of the 2012 Pulitzer winner for investigative reporting.

Board member Meredith Broussard is an associate professor at the Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute of New York University and the author of Artificial Unintelligence: How Computers Misunderstand the World. Her research focuses on artificial intelligence in investigative reporting, with a particular interest in using data analysis for social good. She is an affiliate faculty member at the Moore Sloan Data Science Environment at the NYU Center for Data Science, a 2019 Reynolds Journalism Institute Fellow, and her work has been supported by the Institute of Museum & Library Services as well as the Tow Center at Columbia Journalism School. A former features editor at the Philadelphia Inquirer, she has also worked as a software developer at AT&T Bell Labs and the MIT Media Lab. Her features and essays have appeared in The Atlantic, Slate, Vox, and other outlets.

Board member Scott Klein is deputy managing editor at ProPublica and DocumentCloud co-founder. At ProPublica, Klein directs a team of journalist/programmers building large interactive software projects that tell journalistic stories, and that make complex national statistics relevant to readers and their communities. ProPublica’s news application team’s awards include three Online Journalism Awards for General Excellence, nine Malofiej International Infographics Award medals, the Data Journalism Award Jurors Choice Award, and 34 Society for News Design Awards of Excellence, including special recognition for “defining the design language of data-driven news apps.”

Board member Jenny 8. Lee is co-founder and CEO of Plympton, a San Francisco-based literary studio that innovates in digital publishing. A former New York Times reporter, Jenny is a producer of “The Search for General Tso,” a documentary that premiered at the 2014 Tribeca Film Festival, and the author of the New York Times-bestselling book, The Fortune Cookie Chronicles (Twelve, 2008). She is the founder of Emojicon and MisinfoCon.

Board member Aron Pilhofer is the James B. Steele Chair in Journalism Innovation at Temple University and DocumentCloud co-founder. Before joining Temple, Pilhofer was Executive Editor, Digital, and interim Chief Digital Officer at the Guardian in Londo and Associate Managing Editor for Digital Strategy and editor of Interactive News at The New York Times. At the Guardian, he led the news organization's 200-person product and technology teams as well as heading visual journalism -- including pictures, graphics, interactive and data journalism.

Board member Nabiha Syed is president of The Markup, responsible for legal, communications, development, finance, and human resources. Before joining The Markup, Nabiha was vice president and associate general counsel at BuzzFeed, where she counseled on newsgathering, libel, and privacy matters worldwide. Under her leadership, the company successfully defended against libel litigations arising out of the publication of the Steele dossier and initiated numerous notable access litigations. Prior to BuzzFeed, Syed co-founded the nation’s first media access law clinic, currently in its tenth year of operation at Yale Law School, and served as a First Amendment Fellow at The New York Times.

As executive director, Michael Morisy serves as a non-voting ex officio board member.