ICE I-9 inspection documents

David Gluckman filed this request with the Immigration and Customs Enforcement of the United States of America.
Tracking # 2014-ICFO-08884; OPLA14-1278
Due Nov. 7, 2013
Est. Completion None
Status
Awaiting Response

Communications

From: David Gluckman

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

1. Any and all records containing instruction, guidance, or direction for ICE employees, investigators, field offices, or contractors working with, for, or under the direction of ICE, when conducting Form I-9 inspections, related to classifying Form I-9 violations as “technical” or “substantive,” created, developed, maintained, used, implemented, and/or disseminated (internally or externally) by ICE on or after November 25, 2008; and

2. Any and all records containing instruction, guidance, or direction for ICE employees, investigators, field offices, or contractors working with, for, or under the direction of ICE, when conducting Form I-9 inspections, related to calculating fine amounts for Form I-9 violations, that were created, developed, maintained, used, implemented, and/or disseminated (internally or externally) by ICE on or after November 25, 2008.

I also request that, if appropriate, fees be waived as I believe this request is in the public interest. The requested documents will be made available to the general public free of charge as part of the public information service at MuckRock.com, processed by a representative of the news media/press and is made in the process of news gathering and not for commercial usage.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

David Gluckman

From: Immigration and Customs Enforcement

An acknowledgement letter, stating the request is being processed.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 9, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2014FOIA1723.

Thank you for your help.

From: Escobar, Yanil K

Mr. Gluckman,
Good morning Sir, this is a response to an email you sent to our ICE-FOIA inbox on November 29, 2013 at 5:00am. In that email you were seeking the status pertaining to your case and/or if any clarification is further needed. As of now your case is currently pending as we await a response from one of our program office regarding your request. In reference to a timeframe of when you should hear something back; I would check sometime towards the end of next week. If you have any further question you can call us toll free at (866) 633-1182 or at ICE-FOIA@ice.dhs.gov<mailto:ICE-FOIA@ice.dhs.gov> and reference your case number in the subject line. Thank you.

V/r,

Yanil Escobar
FOIA Paralegal Specialist
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement
Freedom of Information Act Office

From: David Gluckman

Hello Yanil --

Thank you for your December 5 email. More than three weeks have passed and I still have not received any response to my FOIA request (reference number #2014FOIA1723). Please update me as to the status of this request.

Regards,
David

From: Escobar, Yanil K

Mr. David,
Good afternoon Sir, your case is still pending as we still await on records responsive to your request from our program office. We apologies for the inconveniences this might cause you. We are short staff due to the Holiday Season.

V/r,

Yanil Escobar
FOIA Paralegal Specialist
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 9, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2014FOIA1723.

Thank you for your help.

From: David Gluckman

Hello--

It has been over 4 months since I made this FOIA request (#2014FOIA1723) and I have yet to receive a single document. This far exceeds even the most liberal interpretation of the FOIA statutory deadlines. If I do not receive documents within the next month, I will be pursuing this in federal court. Thanks you for your attention to this matter.

Regards,
David Gluckman

From: Escobar, Yanil K

Mr. Gluckman,
Good morning Sir, we apologies for any inconveniences pertaining to your request. We just received records from our program office last week. Due to the snow storms Federal offices were closed last week and short staff. Your case is now with a processor and ready to be process. You should get a response shortly. Thank you for your patience regarding this matter.

V/r,

Yanil Escobar
FOIA Paralegal Specialist
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

From: David Gluckman

Hello --

Just following up on this request again. The snows have melted, the government has reopened, but I have yet to receive a single document. Please let me know when I can expect a response to this long-overdue FOIA request, or whether I need to move forward with a federal lawsuit. Thanks a lot.

Regards,
David

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 9, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2014FOIA1723.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 9, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2014FOIA1723.

Thank you for your help.

From: Immigration and Customs Enforcement

From: Immigration and Customs Enforcement

A letter stating that the request appeal has been received and is being processed.

From: Immigration and Customs Enforcement

A letter stating that the request appeal has been succesful.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 9, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #OPLA14-1278.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 9, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #OPLA14-1278.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 9, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #OPLA14-1278.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 9, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #OPLA14-1278.

Thank you for your help.

From: Stadnicki, David

Good afternoon,

In researching your request, it is currently under supervisory review. The new assigned case number is 2014-ICFO-08884.

Sincerely,
ICE/FOIA

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 9, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2014-ICFO-08884; OPLA14-1278.

Thank you for your help.

From: Stadnicki, David

Good afternoon,

Please be advised that you can now check the status of your FOIA requests online at: http://www.dhs.gov/foia-status. Ensure that you input the entire case number (2015-ICFO-XXXXX).

Sincerely,
ICE/FOIA

Files

pages

Close