FOIA March Madness 2017 - IV - Appeal logs, procedures, letters, opinions (National Park Service)

Beryl Lipton filed this request with the National Park Service of the United States of America.
Est. Completion None
Status
Fix Required

Communications

From: Beryl Lipton

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

1. Any available log of appeals submitted to this agency or the agency tasked with processing Freedom of Information Act appeals for this division. Please provide such logs for the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016. Please, if possible, include with the log the following items:
• the request number associated with the FOIA in question
• the appeal number assigned to the appeal
• the description of the subject matter addressed by the request
• the division or office of initial receipt
• the date on which the appeal was received
• the date on which the appeal was closed
• the determination or final disposition status of the appeal

2. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to reverse, in whole or in part, the decision of the initial request agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

3. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to remand the request to the appropriate agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

4. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to affirm the decision of the initial agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

5. Any instructive or guiding materials provided to and/or utilized by employees of this department’s Freedom of Information Act office. Please include any manuals, procedural materials, reference guides, checklists, training materials, flow charts, directives, memorandums, legal decisions, presentations, or similar material used in the process of an appeal by this office or the office tasked to process FOIA appeals for this office. Any guiding materials used for the preparation of an appeal package should be considered responsive to, though not the entirety of, this element of this request.

6. The name and contact information for the appropriate appeal authority to whom appeals for this agency should be directed. If such information exists as part of a template letter sent to requesters, provision of this document will be considered satisfactory.

Please provide responsive materials on a rolling basis.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Beryl Lipton

From: FOIA, NPS

Hi Lance,

Since the Department of Interior (DOI) FOIA Appeals Office is under the DOI
Solicitor's Office (SOL) I am rerouting this misdirected request to the
DOI-SOL FOIA Office for processing. I have also cc'd the requester so that
they are aware that their request has been rerouted.

Sincerely,

C.

____________________

Ms. Charis Wilson, PhD, CRM
NPS FOIA Officer
12795 W. Alameda Parkway
PO Box 25287
Denver, CO 80225-0287
303-969-2959
Fax: 303-969-2557
1-855-NPS-FOIA
npsfoia@nps.gov <charis_wilson@nps.gov>

From: FOIA, NPS

Ms. Lipton,

The National Park Service does not handle FOIA appeals. Rather, in
accordance with 43 CFR 2.60
<http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?c=ecfr&sid=0fc3ab3499768eebc2e3691c8cf88dec&rgn=div5&view=text&node=43:1.1.1.1.2&idno=43#se43.1.2_160>
appeals are handled by the Department of the Interior (DOI) FOIA Appeals
Office, which is a division of the DOI Solicitor's Office. I have
therefore rerouted your misdirected request
<http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?c=ecfr&sid=0fc3ab3499768eebc2e3691c8cf88dec&rgn=div5&view=text&node=43:1.1.1.1.2&idno=43#se43.1.2_14>to
their office for processing. They will follow up with you shortly to
provide additional information including a tracking number. In the
meantime, should you need to contact them you may do so at:

Lance Purvis,
SOL FOIA Officer
MS-6429, MIB
1849 C Street, NW
Washington, DC 20240

Phone: (202) 208-5817
Fax: (202)208-5206
E-Mail: sol.foia@sol.doi.gov

Also, should you need to contact the DOI FOIA Appeals office directly you
may do so at:

FOIA/Privacy Act Appeals Officer
Ms. Darrell Strayhorn
MS- 6556, MIB
1849 C Street NW
Washington, DC 20240

Phone: (202) 208-5339
Fax: (202) 208-6677
E-Mail: FOIA.Appeals@sol.doi.gov

Sincerely,

C.

____________________

Ms. Charis Wilson, PhD, CRM
NPS FOIA Officer
12795 W. Alameda Parkway
PO Box 25287
Denver, CO 80225-0287
303-969-2959
Fax: 303-969-2557
1-855-NPS-FOIA
npsfoia@nps.gov <charis_wilson@nps.gov>

From: MuckRock

Hello Ms. Wilson,

Thanks so much for your direction. I'll follow up with Mr. Purvis directly.

Best wishes,
Beryl

From: MuckRock

Hello Mr. Purvis,

Could you please confirm that you've received this request?

Thanks so much,
Beryl

From: FOIA, NPS

If you want, I would at least be able to provide copies of appeals and/or
decisions that we have received copies of. However, it is very possible
that the FOIA Appeals Office has received appeals that we have not yet been
notified of.

C.

____________________

Ms. Charis Wilson, PhD, CRM
NPS FOIA Officer
12795 W. Alameda Parkway
PO Box 25287
Denver, CO 80225-0287
303-969-2959
Fax: 303-969-2557
1-855-NPS-FOIA
npsfoia@nps.gov <charis_wilson@nps.gov>

From: Beryl Lipton

Hello Ms. Wilson,

That would be wonderful. However, I don't want your office to have to do any work that is duplicative. If you don't think that would be the case, I would love anything your office happens to have to provide.

Thanks again for all of your help, and I hope you have a lovely evening.

Best,
Beryl

From: FOIA, NPS

Ms. Lipton,

Since you indicated you didn't want us to do anything that would be
duplicative I did not send you anything further since any records I would
have in my files would be duplicative of what the DOI Solicitor's FOIA
office would be providing. As I explained previously the information you
have requested would be held by the DOI FOIA Appeals Office. Therefore
your request was considered to be misdirected and has been rerouted to the
DOI Solicitor's (SOL) FOIA Office, because the DOI FOIA Appeals Office is
located within SOL .

You will need to contact them directly to get a status on your request.
All I can tell you is that the system is showing that they assigned
tracking number SOL-2017-00112. You can contact them at:

Lance Purvis; MS-6429, MIB; 1849 C Street, NW; Washington, DC 20240
Phone: (202) 208-5817
Fax: (202)208-5206
E-Mail: sol.foia@sol.doi.gov

Sincerely,

C.

____________________

Ms. Charis Wilson, PhD, CRM
NPS FOIA Officer
12795 W. Alameda Parkway
PO Box 25287
Denver, CO 80225-0287
303-969-2959
Fax: 303-969-2557
1-855-NPS-FOIA
npsfoia@nps.gov <charis_wilson@nps.gov>

Files

There are no files associated with this request.