FOIA March Madness 2017 - I- Appeal logs, procedures, letters, opinions (Department of Labor)

Beryl Lipton filed this request with the Department of Labor of the United States of America.
Tracking # 826841
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Beryl Lipton

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

1. Any available log of appeals submitted to this agency or the agency tasked with processing Freedom of Information Act appeals for this division. Please provide such logs for the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016. Please, if possible, include with the log the following items:
• the request number associated with the FOIA in question
• the appeal number assigned to the appeal
• the description of the subject matter addressed by the request
• the division or office of initial receipt
• the date on which the appeal was received
• the date on which the appeal was closed
• the determination or final disposition status of the appeal

2. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to reverse, in whole or in part, the decision of the initial request agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

3. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to remand the request to the appropriate agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

4. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to affirm the decision of the initial agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

5. Any instructive or guiding materials provided to and/or utilized by employees of this department’s Freedom of Information Act office. Please include any manuals, procedural materials, reference guides, checklists, training materials, flow charts, directives, memorandums, legal decisions, presentations, or similar material used in the process of an appeal by this office or the office tasked to process FOIA appeals for this office. Any guiding materials used for the preparation of an appeal package should be considered responsive to, though not the entirety of, this element of this request.

6. The name and contact information for the appropriate appeal authority to whom appeals for this agency should be directed. If such information exists as part of a template letter sent to requesters, provision of this document will be considered satisfactory.

Please provide responsive materials on a rolling basis.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Beryl Lipton

From: Karamoko, Arginia - SOL

Mr. Lipton:

Your request has been assigned to Office of the Solicitor (SOL) with tracking number 826841. When we begin processing it, you will be able to track its progress at www.dol.gov/foia<http://www.dol.gov/foia>. If you need to contact us about it for any reason, please submit your inquiry to karamoko.arginia@dol.gov<mailto:karamoko.arginia@dol.gov>. In addition, it would be helpful to include the tracking number in the Subject line of any submission you make.

Sincerely,

Arginia Karamoko
Government Information Specialist, Office of Information Services
Office of the Solicitor | Management & Administrative Legal Services
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
200 Constitution Ave., N.W., N-2420 | Washington, DC 20210
T: (202) 693-5531 | F: (202) 693-5389 | E: karamoko.arginia@dol.gov<mailto:karamoko.arginia@dol.gov>

***This message may contain information that is privileged, confidential, or otherwise exempt from disclosure under applicable law. Do not disclose without consulting the Office of the Solicitor. If you think you received this email in error, please notify the sender immediately.***

From: Hicks, Thomas - SOL

Mr. Lipton,

Can you give me a call regarding the above-reference FOIA request related to FOIA appeals logs and information.

Thomas G. Hicks, Sr., ESQ
FOIA PUBLIC LIAISON.
U.S. Department of Labor
Office of the Solicitor
200 Constitution, Ave. N.W.
Room N2434
Washington, D.C. 20210
(202) 693-5427
hicks.thomas@dol.gov<mailto:hicks.thomas@dol.gov>

From: Hicks, Thomas - SOL

Mr. Lipton,

As the Department of Labor's FOIA Public Liaison, I am contacting you regarding the processing of FOIA request # 826841, which you requested records regarding FOIA appeals.

Your request includes 6 bullets concerning FOIA appeals. The agency component processing this request has indicated that some of these items are readily available (Bullets 1,5 and 6) and can be provided within the next 2 weeks. Although, the agency component will work to provide responsive records for items 2-4, at this time, the agency cannot give an accurate time assessment on providing items 2-4.

Is it acceptable to provide the "log of FOIA appeals" for your review, to determine which FOIA appeals information is needed to response to Bullets 2,3 end 4. This would allow you to identify specific FOIA appeals for which you would like.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Thomas G. Hicks, Sr., ESQ.
U.S. Department of Labor
Office of the Solicitor
200 Constitution, Ave. N.W.
Room N2434
Washington, D.C. 20210
(202) 693-5427
hicks.thomas@dol.gov<mailto:hicks.thomas@dol.gov>

From: Hicks, Thomas - SOL

Mr. Lipton,

This is a request to clarify the above-reference FOIA request. We have not heard from you to assist us in the processing of your FOIA request. As a result of not having received a response, please note that this FOIA request will be administratively close, if we do not hear from you on or before, June 16, 2017.

I can be reached at 202 257-6961 or at hicks.thomas@dol.gov<mailto:hicks.thomas@dol.gov>. Please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thomas G. Hicks, Sr., ESQ
FOIA PUBLIC LIAISON.
U.S. Department of Labor
Office of the Solicitor
200 Constitution, Ave. N.W.
Room N2434
Washington, D.C. 20210
(202) 693-5427
hicks.thomas@dol.gov<mailto:hicks.thomas@dol.gov>

From: Beryl Lipton

Mr. Hicks,

I would greatly appreciate continued processing of this request. I'd be happy to limit the appeal materials necessary to gather based upon an inspection of the appeal log.

Thanks so much for your help. I hope you had a lovely holiday.

Best wishes,
Beryl

From: Department of Labor

A copy of documents responsive to the request.

From: Hicks, Thomas - SOL

Hello,

Attached is a copy of the response letter. The letter and the 53 pages were sent to Beryl Lipton on Sept. 27, 2017.

Thomas G. Hicks, Sr., ESQ.
U.S. Department of Labor
Office of the Solicitor
200 Constitution, Ave. N.W.
Room N2434
Washington, D.C. 20210
(202) 693-5427
hicks.thomas@dol.gov<mailto:hicks.thomas@dol.gov>

From: Beryl Lipton

Hello Mr. Hicks,

Thanks so much for your note. The response hasn't arrived yet. I'll let you know when it does.

Best,
Beryl

Files

pages

Close