ICE Notice of Inspection Letters for Church of Scientology R-1 Visas

R. M. Seibert filed this request with the Immigration and Customs Enforcement of the United States of America.

It is a clone of this request.

Tracking # 2017-ICFO-00227
Est. Completion None
Status
No Responsive Documents

Communications

From: R. M. Seibert

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

A copy of all Notice of Inspection (NOI) letters pertaining to ICE Form I-9 Audits for class R-1 visa petitions, dated between January 1, 2009 and the date this request is processed, where the employer's company name begins with "Church of Scientology."

Also, I request that you please conduct the record search for this request to ensure it includes a range of partial matches on company name, for example: Church of Scientology, International; Church of Scientology of Florida, Inc.; Church of Scientology of Los Angeles; Church of Scientology Mission of Belleair, Inc.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes. Therefore, I request a fee waiver based on the following considerations for this request.

I am an independent researcher investigating the vast number of R-1 visa petitions filed by Scientology-related entities. I am filing this request strictly for raising public awareness and educational purposes. I believe this topic is in the public interest based on a December 2012 article published by a journalist reporting that for at least eight months, the US Department of Homeland Security has been investigating allegations of human trafficking in the Church of Scientology, with the investigation possibly based out of the Tampa field office under lead investigator Justin Deutsch. For more information, please see: http://bit.ly/29NE1IE and http://bit.ly/1Q4WShC

In the event my fee waiver is denied and there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Ms. R. M. Seibert

From:

October 03, 2016 R.M. SEIBERT MUCKROCK DEPT MR 27202 411A HIGHLAND AVE SOMERVILLE, MA 02144-2516 RE:     ICE FOIA Case Number 2017-ICFO-00227 Dear Ms. SEIBERT: This acknowledges receipt of your Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), dated September 10, 2016, and to your request for a waiver of all assessable FOIA fees. Your request was received in this office on September 10, 2016. Specifically, you requested a copy of all Notice of Inspection (NOI) letters pertaining to ICE Form I-9 Audits for class R-1 visa petitions, dated between January 1, 2009 and the date this request is processed, where the employer's company name begins with "Church of Scientology." Due to the increasing number of FOIA requests received by this office, we may encounter some delay in processing your request. Per Section 5.5(a) of the DHS FOIA regulations, 6 C.F.R. Part 5, ICE processes FOIA requests according to their order of receipt. Although ICE’s goal is to respond within 20 business days of receipt of your request, the FOIA does permit a 10- day extension of this time period. As your request seeks numerous documents that will necessitate a thorough and wide-ranging search, ICE will invoke a 10-day extension for your request, as allowed by Title 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(6)(B). If you care to narrow the scope of your request, please contact our office. We will make every effort to comply with your request in a timely manner. After thoroughly reviewing your letter and request for fee waiver, I have determined that you have not presented a convincing argument that MUCKROCK is entitled to a blanket waiver of applicable fees. The DHS FOIA Regulations at 6 CFR § 5.11(k)(2) set forth six factors to examine in determining whether the applicable legal standard for a fee waiver has been met.  We will consider these factors in our evaluation of your request for a fee waiver: (1) Whether the subject of the requested records concerns “the operations or activities of the government”; (2) Whether the disclosure is “likely to contribute” to an understanding of government operations or activities; (3) Whether disclosure of the requested information will contribute to the understanding of the public at large, as opposed to the individual understanding of the requestor or a narrow segment of interested persons; (4) Whether the contribution to public understanding of government operations or activities will be "significant"; (5) Whether the requester has a commercial interest that would be furthered by the requested disclosure; and (6) Whether the magnitude of any identified commercial interest to the requestor is sufficiently large in comparison with the public interest in disclosure, that disclosure is primarily in the commercial interest of the requestor. As a requester, you bear the burden under FOIA of showing that the fee waiver requirements have been met.  Based on my review of your September 10, 2016 letter and for the reasons stated herein, I have determined that your fee waiver request is deficient because your request did not satisfy factors 4, 5, and 6.  Since your request for a fee waiver has failed to satisfy each of the required factors, I am denying your fee waiver request. Provisions of the FOIA allow us to recover part of the cost of complying with your request.  We shall charge you for records in accordance with the DHS Interim FOIA regulations as they apply to non-commercial requesters.  As a non-commercial requester, you will be charged 10 cents per page for duplication; the first 100 pages are free, as are the first two hours of search time, after which you will pay the per quarter-hour rate ($4.00 for clerical personnel, $7.00 for professional personnel, $10.25 for managerial personnel) of the searcher.  We will construe the submission of your request as an agreement to pay up to $25.00. You will be contacted before any further fees are accrued. If you are not satisfied with the response to this request, you have the right to appeal following the procedures outlined in the DHS regulations at 6 C.F.R. § 5.9. Should you wish to do so, you must send your appeal and a copy of this letter, within 90 days of the date of this letter, to:
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement
Office of the Principal Legal Advisor
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
500 12th Street, S.W., Mail Stop 5900
Washington, D.C. 20536-5900
Your envelope and letter should be marked “FOIA Appeal.” Copies of the FOIA and DHS regulations are available at www.dhs.gov/foia.
ICE has queried the appropriate program offices within ICE for responsive records. If any responsive records are located, they will be reviewed for determination of releasability. Please be assured that one of the processors in our office will respond to your request as expeditiously as possible. We appreciate your patience as we proceed with your request.
Your request has been assigned reference number 2017-ICFO-00227. Please refer to this identifier in any future correspondence. To check the status of an ICE FOIA/PA request, please visit . Please note that to check the status of a request, you must enter the 2016-ICFO-XXXXX or 2017-ICFO-XXXXX tracking number. If you need any further assistance or would like to discuss any aspect of your request, please contact the FOIA office. You may send an e-mail to ice-foia@ice.dhs.gov, call toll free (866) 633-1182, or you may contact our FOIA Public Liaison in the same manner. Additionally, you have a right to right to seek dispute resolution services from the Office of Government Information Services (OGIS) which mediates disputes between FOIA requesters and Federal agencies as a non-exclusive alternative to litigation. If you are requesting access to your own records (which is considered a Privacy Act request), you should know that OGIS does not have the authority to handle requests made under the Privacy Act of 1974. You may contact OGIS as follows: Office of Government Information Services, National Archives and Records Administration, 8601 Adelphi Road-OGIS, College Park, Maryland 20740-6001, e-mail at ogis@nara.gov; telephone at 202-741-5770; toll free at 1-877-684-6448; or facsimile at 202-741-5769. (http://www.dhs.gov/foia-status) http://www.dhs.gov/foia-status
Regards,
ICE FOIA Office
Immigration and Customs Enforcement
Freedom of Information Act Office
500 12th Street, S.W., Stop 5009
Washington, D.C. 20536-5009
Telephone: 1-866-633-1182
Visit our FOIA website at
www.ice.gov/foia

From: ICE-FOIA

Good afternoon,

Please be advised that we are still waiting for a response from the tasked agency within ICE.

Sincerely,
ICE/FOIA

From: ICE-FOIA

Good afternoon,

At this time your request is tasked to the appropriate program office for search for responsive records.

Sincerely,

ICE FOIA

From:

Ms. SEIBERT,
ICE's final response to your FOIA request, 2017-ICFO-00227, for a copy of all Notice of Inspection (NOI) letters pertaining to ICE Form I-9 Audits for class R-1 visa petitions, dated between January 1, 2009 and the date this request is processed, where the employer's company name begins with "Church of Scientology." is attached.
Please note that the attachment may be password protected. If you are prompted to enter a password when opening the attachment and you did not receive a password it may be in your junk/spam folder.
Sincerely,
ICE FOIA

Files