FOIA March Madness 2017 - IV - Appeal logs, procedures, letters, opinions (Bureau of Indian Affairs)

Beryl Lipton filed this request with the Bureau of Indian Affairs of the United States of America.
Due April 11, 2017
Est. Completion None
Status
Awaiting Response

Communications

From: Beryl Lipton

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

1. Any available log of appeals submitted to this agency or the agency tasked with processing Freedom of Information Act appeals for this division. Please provide such logs for the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016. Please, if possible, include with the log the following items:
• the request number associated with the FOIA in question
• the appeal number assigned to the appeal
• the description of the subject matter addressed by the request
• the division or office of initial receipt
• the date on which the appeal was received
• the date on which the appeal was closed
• the determination or final disposition status of the appeal

2. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to reverse, in whole or in part, the decision of the initial request agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

3. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to remand the request to the appropriate agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

4. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to affirm the decision of the initial agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

5. Any instructive or guiding materials provided to and/or utilized by employees of this department’s Freedom of Information Act office. Please include any manuals, procedural materials, reference guides, checklists, training materials, flow charts, directives, memorandums, legal decisions, presentations, or similar material used in the process of an appeal by this office or the office tasked to process FOIA appeals for this office. Any guiding materials used for the preparation of an appeal package should be considered responsive to, though not the entirety of, this element of this request.

6. The name and contact information for the appropriate appeal authority to whom appeals for this agency should be directed. If such information exists as part of a template letter sent to requesters, provision of this document will be considered satisfactory.

Please provide responsive materials on a rolling basis.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Beryl Lipton

From: FOIA, BIA

Greetings,

It appears that the records you are seeking are from unspecified bureaus.
We cannot comply with your request. We have chosen to forward it to the
Office of the Solicitor. You do not have to contact the Office of the
Solicitor at this time, but if you need to do so in the future, you may do
so by contacting Lance Purvis.

Lance Purvis; MS-6429, MIB; 1849 C Street, NW; Washington, DC 20240

Phone: (202) 208-5817

Fax: (202)208-5206

E-Mail: sol.foia@sol.doi.gov

Website: https://solicitor.doi.gov/

Thank you.

From: MuckRock

Thanks so much for your help!

Best wishes,
Beryl

From: MuckRock

Hello Mr. Purvis,

Could you please confirm that you've received this request?

Thanks so much,
Beryl

From: FOIA, BIA

Greedings:

We have forward you email to the FOIA Appeals office at "APPEALS, SOL" <
FOIA.Appeals@sol.doi.gov>.
if you need to do so in the future, you may do so by contacting Lance
Purvis.

Lance Purvis; MS-6429, MIB; 1849 C Street, NW; Washington, DC 20240

Phone: (202) 208-5817

Fax: (202)208-5206

E-Mail: sol.foia@sol.doi.gov

Website: https://solicitor.doi.gov/

Thank you.

From: FOIA, BIA

Greetings,

Thank you for email. We routed your request to the SOL FOIA Coordinator on
March 15, 2017. You may contact the Office of the Solicitor FOIA
Coordinator by contacting Lance Purvis for status updates. Thank you.

Lance Purvis; MS-6429, MIB; 1849 C Street, NW; Washington, DC 20240
Phone: (202) 208-5817
Fax: (202)208-5206
E-Mail: sol.foia@sol.doi.gov
Website: https://solicitor.doi.gov/

From: Purvis, Lance

Thank you for your email.  I am currently out of the office and will return on Teusday, June 27.  For correspondence or records assistance, please contact Rhonda Worthy at (202) 208-5429.  For all else, I will respond to your inquiry once I return.
--

Lance Purvis
Office of The Solicitor
U.S. Department of The Interior
1849 C Street, N.W.
Washington D.C., 20240
(O)(202)208-5817
(F)(202)208-5206 lance.purvis@sol.doi.gov (mailto:lance.purvis@sol.doi.gov)

From: FOIA, BIA

Greetings,

Thank you for email. We routed your request to the SOL FOIA Coordinator on
March 15, 2017. You may contact the Office of the Solicitor FOIA
Coordinator by contacting Lance Purvis for status updates. Thank you.

Lance Purvis; MS-6429, MIB; 1849 C Street, NW; Washington, DC 20240
Phone: (202) 208-5817
Fax: (202)208-5206
E-Mail: sol.foia@sol.doi.gov
Website: https://solicitor.doi.gov/

Files

There are no files associated with this request.