Library Complaint and Censorship Records (High Rock Middle School High Rock School Library)

Chris Peterson filed this request with the High Rock Middle School High Rock School Library of Needham, MA .
Est. Completion None
Status
No Responsive Documents

Communications

From: Chris Peterson

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Massachusetts Public Records Law (M. G. L. Chapter 66, Section 10) for a copy of the following records:

Copies of written and electronic complaints and challenges for removal, reclassification, or other reconsideration of publications including books, magazines, movies, websites (e.g. filtered from library computers), or other media from January 1, 2010, to present, as well as records, petitions, and correspondence related to these challenges.

We seek such records as, for example, are classified by the Massachusetts’ Supervisor of Public Records Municipal Records Retention Manual under Section 17.004: Complaint and Censorship Records, though we do not limit our request to those so classified.

According to 950 CMR 32.06(5), every custodian of records is encouraged to waive fees where disclosure would benefit the public interest, as we believe these will. This request is part of a research project by the Center for Civic Media to better understand how and why library materials are challenged in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. We are committed to open access and plan to make our findings broadly available to the public. If fees cannot be waived please inform me in advance.

We ask that, if possible, you please respond via email with text documents or clear, high-quality scanned PDFs. If you cannot reply electronically, please mail us the best quality copies you reasonably can. Your efforts helps us ensure broad accessibility and equity.

The statute requires your response to this request within 10 business days. Thank you in advance for your cooperation in helping us better understand this important aspect of the work that you do. Please feel free to email me directly if you have any further questions.

Best,

- Chris Peterson
Research Assistant
Center for Civic Media
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

From: Needham Public Schools

To Whom It May Concern:
Needham Public Schools has not received any challenges for removal, reclassification or reconsideration of any materials or media during the period January 1, 2010 to present.

Theresa W, Duggan, Ed.D.
Director of Program Development & Implementation
Needham Public Schools

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: Elizabeth Vaccaro

requests@muckrock.com writes:
>
>April 4, 2013
>High Rock Middle School High Rock School Library
>High Rock Middle School High Rock School Library
>77 Ferndale Road
>Needham, MA 02492-2203
>
>This is a follow up to a previous request:

I forwarded your request to my department head, and she has informed me
that Terry Duggan, the Director of Program Development and Implementation
for the Needham Public Schools, will be responding to your request. I have
been requested not to correspond directly.
>
>
>
>
>To Whom It May Concern:
>
>I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request,
>copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me
>know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification
>is needed.
>
>Thank you for your help.
>
>
>---
>
>On March 19, 2013:
>
>To Whom It May Concern:
>
>This is a request under the Massachusetts Public Records Law (M. G. L.
>Chapter 66, Section 10) for a copy of the following records:
>
>Copies of written and electronic complaints and challenges for removal,
>reclassification, or other reconsideration of publications including
>books, magazines, movies, websites (e.g. filtered from library
>computers), or other media from January 1, 2010, to present, as well as
>records, petitions, and correspondence related to these challenges.
>
>We seek such records as, for example, are classified by the
>Massachusetts’ Supervisor of Public Records Municipal Records Retention
>Manual under Section 17.004: Complaint and Censorship Records, though we
>do not limit our request to those so classified.
>
>According to 950 CMR 32.06(5), every custodian of records is encouraged
>to waive fees where disclosure would benefit the public interest, as we
>believe these will. This request is part of a research project by the
>Center for Civic Media to better understand how and why library materials
>are challenged in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. We are committed to
>open access and plan to make our findings broadly available to the
>public. If fees cannot be waived please inform me in advance.
>
>We ask that, if possible, you please respond via email with text
>documents or clear, high-quality scanned PDFs. If you cannot reply
>electronically, please mail us the best quality copies you reasonably
>can. Your efforts helps us ensure broad accessibility and equity.
>
>The statute requires your response to this request within 10 business
>days. Thank you in advance for your cooperation in helping us better
>understand this important aspect of the work that you do. Please feel
>free to email me directly if you have any further questions.
>
>Best,
>
>- Chris Peterson
> Research Assistant
> Center for Civic Media
> Massachusetts Institute of Technology
>
>Filed via MuckRock.com
>E-mail (Preferred): requests@muckrock.com
>
>For mailed responses, please address (see note):
>MuckRock News
>DEPT MR 4054
>PO Box 55819
>Boston, MA 02205-5819
>
>PLEASE NOTE the new address as well as the fact that improperly addressed
>(i.e., with the requester's name rather than MuckRock News) requests
>might be returned by the USPS as undeliverable.
>
>
>
>
>

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

Files

There are no files associated with this request.