Library Complaint and Censorship Records (Bowman Elementary School Library)

Chris Peterson filed this request with the Bowman Elementary School Library of Lexington, MA.
Est. Completion None
Status
Fix Required

Communications

From: Chris Peterson

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Massachusetts Public Records Law (M. G. L. Chapter 66, Section 10) for a copy of the following records:

Copies of written and electronic complaints and challenges for removal, reclassification, or other reconsideration of publications including books, magazines, movies, websites (e.g. filtered from library computers), or other media from January 1, 2010, to present, as well as records, petitions, and correspondence related to these challenges.

We seek such records as, for example, are classified by the Massachusetts’ Supervisor of Public Records Municipal Records Retention Manual under Section 17.004: Complaint and Censorship Records, though we do not limit our request to those so classified.

According to 950 CMR 32.06(5), every custodian of records is encouraged to waive fees where disclosure would benefit the public interest, as we believe these will. This request is part of a research project by the Center for Civic Media to better understand how and why library materials are challenged in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. We are committed to open access and plan to make our findings broadly available to the public. If fees cannot be waived please inform me in advance.

We ask that, if possible, you please respond via email with text documents or clear, high-quality scanned PDFs. If you cannot reply electronically, please mail us the best quality copies you reasonably can. Your efforts helps us ensure broad accessibility and equity.

The statute requires your response to this request within 10 business days. Thank you in advance for your cooperation in helping us better understand this important aspect of the work that you do. Please feel free to email me directly if you have any further questions.

Best,

- Chris Peterson
Research Assistant
Center for Civic Media
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

From: Melinda Webster Loof

Dear Sir:

I do not know who you - I need better identification before I respond.

From: Chris Peterson

Hi Melinda! Apologies for catching you in class. Please let me know what other information you might need from me.

Best,

- Chris

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: Melinda Webster Loof

I would like a letter from you on letterhead explaining who you are, why
you need this information
and how we may reach you if we have any further questions. I would like
the letter signed by you
with indication of what department you are with and I would also like to
know whom you report
to.

Thank you so much!

Melinda Webster Loof
Library Teacher
Bowman School
9 Philip Road
Lexington, Massachusetts 02421

(When writing or responding, please be aware that the Secretary of State
has determined that email is a public record and may not be kept
confidential.  Please do not provide confidential or personal information
about a student through email.  We can plan a time to speak in person or
on the phone, through email.)

From: Chris Peterson

Ms. Loof,

Thank you for getting back to us. The Massachusetts Public Records Law does not require the requester to provide identification or explanation of a request. Please begin processing this request in accordance with your obligations as a records custodian of the state.

Thank you.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 19, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: Melinda Webster Loof

What is it exactly that you need????

Melinda Webster Loof
Library Teacher
Bowman School
9 Philip Road
Lexington, Massachusetts 02421

(When writing or responding, please be aware that the Secretary of State
has determined that email is a public record and may not be kept
confidential.  Please do not provide confidential or personal information
about a student through email.  We can plan a time to speak in person or
on the phone, through email.)

Files

There are no files associated with this request.