Discriminaton Complaints Against Formerly Incarcerated People

Sarika Ram filed this request with the Wisconsin Equal Rights Division of Wisconsin.
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Sarika Ram

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to the Wisconsin Open Records Act, I hereby request the following records:

-Discrimination complaints submitted to the Wisconsin Equal Rights Division from January 1, 2018 to the date this request is processed including any of the following words/phrases:
-crime
-crimes
-criminal
-convict
-convicted
-sex offense
-sex offender
-jail
-prison
-correctional facility
-probation
-parole

Please provide materials on a rolling basis, as they become available.

If you have any questions, please feel free to clarify via phone at 610-637-7745.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes. Therefore, we request that any fees please be waived.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter.

I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 10 business days.

Sincerely,

Sarika Ram

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Hello -

Thank you for your inquiry to the Department of Workforce Development regarding complaints submitted to our Equal Rights Division from January 1, 2018 through August 13, 2018 that include certain key terms. Unfortunately, our electronic database can only be searched by name of respondent or name of complainant. In a database as large as this one, your request simply cannot be satisfied.

We ask that you refine you search using names of respondents and/or names of complainants.

Thank you,
Tyler

From: Sarika Ram

Hello Tyler,
Thank you for your response.

I used specific terms because I am interested in receiving complaints submitted by formerly incarcerated people. Would there be any way to narrow my request by requesting complaints in which the complainant has identified that they were formerly incarcerated?

Best,
Sarika

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

The closest we could do is this: https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er/civil_rights/discrimination/arrest_conviction.htm

If you feel this will work for you, can you please submit another formal open records request for complaints made on this basis for a specific time period and we can see what we can do for you?
Thanks!
Tyler

From: Sarika Ram

Thank you. The following details my revised public records request:

Pursuant to the Wisconsin Open Records Act, I hereby request the following records:

-Complaints submitted between January 1, 2018 and the date this request is processed related to discrimination based on a person's arrest and conviction record

Please provide materials on a rolling basis, as they become available.

If you have any questions, please feel free to clarify via phone at 610-637-7745.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes. Therefore, we request that any fees please be waived.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter.

I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 10 business days.

Sincerely,

Sarika Ram

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Sarika,

Your request for:

-Complaints submitted between January 1, 2018 and the date this request is processed related to discrimination based on a person's arrest and conviction record
Is vague. Can you be more specific in what records you are questing?

Also, to your request

Please provide materials on a rolling basis, as they become available.
I would suggest that if you want information on a regular basis, that you establish a mechanism to make regular requests.

George Althoff
Communications Director
Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development
201 E. Washington Ave.
Madison, WI 53707-7946
Desk: (608) 266-6753
Media Line: (608) 266-2722
Email: georget.althoff@dwd.wisconsin.gov<mailto:georget.althoff@dwd.wisconsin.gov>

[cid:image001.png@01D44100.5CF4A790]

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Hello -

We are responding to your open records request dated August 16 2018, in which you requested:

"Complaints submitted between January 1, 2018 and the date this request is processed related to discrimination based on a person's arrest and conviction record."

The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD) construes your correspondence as a public records request pursuant to the Wisconsin Public Records Law, Wis. Stat. §§ 19.31-39.

DWD contacted our Equal Rights Division and requested they search their records database for complaints filed under the basis you identified in your request. The search resulted in over 200 records, which will be sent to you in a series of emails.

With respect to all records produced in response to your request, pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 19.35(1)(a), the complainant's home address, certain personal information such as personal email and personal phone number have been redacted throughout the records.

In conducting the public policy balancing test, we considered the general presumption of openness, and the public interest knowing that government agencies are investigating and responding to complaints received from Wisconsin residents. Well-established public policy recognizing the confidentiality and privacy of employees' personal information is expressed in Wis. Stat. § 19.36. (10)(a). We have determined that the same underlying public policy of protecting the privacy of employees' personal information outweighs the public interest in disclosure of the individuals' home address, phone number, personal email and other personal information.

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 19.35(4)(b), to the extent this determination is a denial, it is subject to review by mandamus under Wis. Stat. § 19.37(1) or upon application to a district attorney or the Attorney General.

Thank you,
Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703
[new DWD logo]
Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

This completes our response to your request.
Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

From: Wisconsin Equal Rights Division

Tyler L. Tichenor
Communications Specialist, Adv.
DWD Communications Office
Office: 608-267-4780
Cell: 608-630-6391
201 E. Washington Avenue
Madison, WI 53703

Twitter: @WIWorkforce<https://twitter.com/WIWorkforce>
Facebook: /WIWorkforce<https://www.facebook.com/WIWorkforce>
YouTube: /wiworkforce<https://www.youtube.com/user/wiworkforce>

Files

pages

Close