Sexual Harassment Complaints/Lawsuits (Metropolitan Police Department)

JPat Brown filed this request with the Metropolitan Police Department of Washington, DC.
Tracking #

2017-FOIA-00731

Multi Request Sexual Harassment Complaints/Lawsuits
Due Dec. 14, 2017
Est. Completion Jan. 19, 2018
Status
Awaiting Response

Communications

From: JPat Brown

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to the District of Columbia Freedom of Information Act of 1974, D.C. Code Ann. § 2-531 et seq. ("D.C. Act"), I hereby request the following records:

Copies of all reports, lists, or databases detailing the number and/or status of sexual harassment complaints and/or lawsuits brought against the Department over the last 5 years. This should include requests for, or documentation of, funds used to cover settlement agreements, court costs, or other expenses related to lawsuits.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 15 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

JPat Brown

From: Metropolitan Police Department

Good Afternoon,

Please submit your request to the Freedom of Information Act Office. Thank you.

Sergeant Blonese Thomas
Metropolitan Police Department
Corporate Support Bureau
Records Branch
300 Indiana Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001

"We are the Metropolitan Police Department."
"We are here to help."

From: Metropolitan Police Department

Dear JPat Brown,
This office is in receipt of your Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request. Your FOIA Request Number is 2018-FOIA-00731 Your assigned FOIA Specialist is latrina crumlin Pursuant to D.C. Official Code § 2-532, we have fifteen (15) business-days, subject to the possibility of a ten (10) business-day extension, to respond to the request as of the date of receipt.  More specifically, D.C. Official Code § 2-532(c) and (d) state:
(c) A public body, upon request reasonably describing any public record, shall within 15 days (except Saturdays, Sundays, and legal public holidays) of the receipt of any such request either make the requested public record accessible or notify the person making such request of its determination not to make the requested public record or any part thereof accessible and the reasons therefor
(d) In unusual circumstances, the time limit prescribed in subsection (c) of this section may be extended by written notice to the person making such request setting forth the reasons for extension and expected date for determination. Such extension shall not exceed 10 days (except Saturdays, Sundays, and legal public holidays). For purposes of this subsection, and only to the extent necessary for processing of the particular request, "unusual circumstances" are limited to: (1) The need to search for, collect, and appropriately examine a voluminous amount of separate and distinct records which are demanded in a single request; or (2) The need for consultation, which shall be conducted with all practicable speed, with another public body having a substantial interest in the determination of the request or among 2 or more components of a public body having substantial subject-matter interest therein.
If you have any questions regarding your request, please contact the assigned FOIA Specialist at (202) 727-3721. For ease of reference, we ask that you have your FOIA Request Number available when you contact our office.
Regards, Robert Eckert

From: Metropolitan Police Department

Mr. JPat Brown
Via: Muckrock
requests@muckrock.com<mailto:requests@muckrock.com>
FOIA Request No. 2018-FOIA-00731

Dear Mr. Brown:

This concerns your November 7, 2017, Freedom of Information (FOIA) request for records of the number and/or status of sexual harassment complaints and/or lawsuits brought against the MPD the last five (5) years, including requests for, or documentation of, funds to cover settlement agreements, court costs, or other expenses related to lawsuits. I am assigned as coordinator of your FOIA request.

The nature of the records requested is such that we anticipate the need for consultation with one or more components as to the disposition of any records that may be located. Therefore, this is to let you know that we anticipate the need for at least one ten working-day extension, and that at this time we hope to be able to respond by December 14, 2017, although it is possible that some additional time may be warranted to complete processing of the request.

We will make every effort to locate records that may be responsive, and we anticipate responding, after having reviewed and otherwise addressed records that may be located, as soon as possible.

There are no charges for FOIA services, in this instance.

Sincerely,
Robert Eckert
FOIA Specialist
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Office
Metropolitan Police Department
Robert.eckert@dc.gov<mailto:Robert.eckert@dc.gov>
"We are here to help."

From: Metropolitan Police Department

Mr. JPat Brown
Via: Muckrock
requests@muckrock.com<mailto:requests@muckrock.com<mailto:requests@muckrock.com%3cmailto:requests@muckrock.com>>
FOIA Request No. 2018-FOIA-00731

Dear Mr. Brown:

Thank you for your query about your FOIA request, referenced above, for records of the number and/or status of sexual harassment complaints and/or lawsuits brought against the MPD the last five (5) years, including requests for, or documentation of, funds to cover settlement agreements, court costs, or other expenses related to lawsuits. I am assigned as coordinator of your FOIA request.

Again, the nature of the records requested is such that we anticipate the need for.additional processing time. It appears that we have received some records, but due to a backlog of FOIA requests and time needed to review for responsiveness, completeness, consultation with one or more components, and any needed processing and review for adequacy, we will need additional time to complete processing of the FOIA request. At this time we hope to be able to respond by January 19, 2018, although, again, it is possible that some additional time may be warranted to complete processing of the request.

Again, we anticipate responding, after having reviewed and otherwise addressed records that may be located, as soon as possible.

There are no charges for FOIA services, in this instance.

Sincerely,
Robert Eckert
FOIA Specialist
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Office
Metropolitan Police Department
Robert.eckert@dc.gov<mailto:Robert.eckert@dc.gov<mailto:Robert.eckert@dc.gov%3cmailto:Robert.eckert@dc.gov>>
"We are here to help."
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Oct. 31, 2017:
Good Afternoon,

Please submit your request to the Freedom of Information Act Office. Thank you.

Sergeant Blonese Thomas
Metropolitan Police Department
Corporate Support Bureau
Records Branch
300 Indiana Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001

"We are the Metropolitan Police Department."
"We are here to help."

---

On Oct. 31, 2017:
To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to the District of Columbia Freedom of Information Act of 1974, D.C. Code Ann. § 2-531 et seq. ("D.C. Act"), I hereby request the following records:

Copies of all reports, lists, or databases detailing the number and/or status of sexual harassment complaints and/or lawsuits brought against the Department over the last 5 years. This should include requests for, or documentation of, funds used to cover settlement agreements, court costs, or other expenses related to lawsuits.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 15 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

JPat Brown

Filed via MuckRock.com
E-mail (Preferred): requests@muckrock.com<mailto:requests@muckrock.com>
Upload documents directly: https://www.muckrock.com/accounts/agency_login/metropolitan-police-department-385/sexual-harassment-complaintslawsuits-metropolitan-police-department-45371/?uuid-login=ae3182e9-4bd2-49cd-a008-4500087f6bbb&email=robert.eckert%40dc.gov#agency-reply
Is this email coming to the wrong contact? Something else wrong? Use the above link to let us know.

For mailed responses, please address (see note):
MuckRock News
DEPT MR 45371
411A Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144-2516

PLEASE NOTE: This request was filed by a MuckRock staff reporter. Also note that improperly addressed (i.e., with the requester's name rather than "MuckRock News" and the department number) requests might be returned as undeliverable.
[http://email.requests.muckrock.com/o/eJwNzEsSgyAMANDTlCWTRAKyYNHvNTo1hNZRhylqz19Xb_dyYvZmTAQYkNAhALK3CIE7sHThB3TU0_l-vWGMJwdNv7uu22qXXaZWZbJSF_NJNGjJpfTEOiDFEDGw9ILA5LVENbq8xvk55uSD75w3LbU6aNusynRw1Fnsu_7-SJsqdA]

From: Metropolitan Police Department

Hello Mr. Brown,

Please see the below FOIA e-mail, forwarded to you on December 15, 2017, communicating the need for additional time to process your FOIA request.

Thank you,
Robert Eckert
FOIA Specialist
FOIA Office
Metropolitan Police Department
Robert.eckert@dc.gov<mailto:Robert.eckert@dc.gov>
"We are here to help."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: Metropolitan Police Department

Mr. JPat Brown
Via: Muckrock
requests@muckrock.com<mailto:requests@muckrock.com<mailto:requests@muckrock.com%3cmailto:requests@muckrock.com>>
FOIA Request No. 2018-FOIA-00731
Dear Mr. Brown:

Thank you for your query about your FOIA request, referenced above, for records of the number and/or status of sexual harassment complaints and/or lawsuits brought against the MPD the last five (5) years, including requests for, or documentation of, funds to cover settlement agreements, court costs, or other expenses related to lawsuits. I am assigned as coordinator of your FOIA request.

Again, the nature of the records requested is such that we anticipate the need for additional processing time. It does appear that we have received some records, but due to a backlog of FOIA requests and time needed to review for responsiveness, completeness, consultation with one or more components, and any needed processing and review for adequacy, we will need additional time to complete processing of the FOIA request. At this time we hope to be able to respond by February 20, 2018, although it is possible that some additional time may be warranted to complete processing of the request.

Again, we anticipate responding, after having reviewed and otherwise addressed records that may be located, as soon as possible. There are no charges for FOIA services, in this instance.

Sincerely,
Robert Eckert
FOIA Specialist
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Office
Metropolitan Police Department
Robert.eckert@dc.gov<mailto:Robert.eckert@dc.gov<mailto:Robert.eckert@dc.gov%3cmailto:Robert.eckert@dc.gov>>
"We are here to help."

From: Metropolitan Police Department

Mr. JPat Brown
Via: Muckrock
requests@muckrock.com<mailto:requests@muckrock.com>
FOIA Request No. 2018-FOIA-00731

Dear Mr. Brown:

Thank you for your query about your FOIA request, referenced above, for records of the number and/or status of sexual harassment complaints and/or lawsuits brought against the MPD the last five (5) years, including requests for, or documentation of, funds to cover settlement agreements, court costs, or other expenses related to lawsuits.

Again, the nature of the records requested is such that we continue to anticipate the need for additional processing time. It does appear that we have received some records, but due to a backlog of FOIA requests and time needed to review for responsiveness, completeness, consultation with one or more components, and any needed processing and review for adequacy, we will need additional time to complete processing of the FOIA request.

At this time we hope to be able to respond by May 25, although it is possible that some additional time may be continue to be warranted to complete processing of the request. Again, we anticipate responding, after having reviewed and otherwise addressed records that may be located, as soon as possible. There are no charges for FOIA services, in this instance.

Sincerely,
Robert Eckert
FOIA Specialist
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Office
Metropolitan Police Department
Robert.eckert@dc.gov
"We are here to help."

From: Metropolitan Police Department

Dear JPat Brown,
Please see attached final response in regard to the aforementioned FOIA request.
Regards,
Inspector Vendette T. Parker Freedom of Information Act(FOIA) Officer Metropolitan Police Department
300 Indiana Avenue, NW Suite 4153 Washington, DC  20001 Office  202.724.4264
vendette.parker@dc.gov We are here to help

Files

pages

Close