United States Postal Inspection Service FOIA

scott huminski filed this request with the United States Postal Service, Office of Inspector General of the United States of America.
Est. Completion None
Status
No Responsive Documents

Communications

From: scott huminski

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

All records and documents and police reports referencing or mentioning or pertaining to,
Scott Huminski
Trevor M Nelson DOB 8/2/1998, residence Glendale AZ
Justin M Nelson DOB 6/19/1976 (deceased), residence Glendale AZ
Debra M Riffel DOB 11/22/1964, residence Glendale AZ

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

scott huminski

From: FOIA

Dear Mr. Huminski:

This acknowledges receipt of your January 9 Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to the U.S. Postal Service Office of Inspector General (OIG) for records related to you, Trevor M. Nelson, Justin M. Nelson, and Debra M. Riffel. FOIA case number 2017-IGFP-00171 has been assigned to your request. Please refer to this number in any future communications regarding this request.

Certification of Identity:

Under postal regulations found at 39 C.F.R. § 266.6, under the Privacy Act of 1974, 5 U.S.C. § 552a, requesters must present personal identification, sufficient to identify themselves, before the OIG may release some or all of their personal information. This ensures records of individuals in OIG systems of records are not wrongfully disclosed to others. Examples of sufficient identification are a copy of a valid driver's license, Medicare card, and employee identification card, along with a completed, dated, and signed OIG Privacy Waiver and Certification of Identity. A copy of our Privacy Waiver and Certification of Identification form is enclosed. When we receive the proof of identity and the completed form, we will process your request. We will search for and review any documents we locate, and issue a determination letter under established FOIA guidelines.

Privacy Waiver: Necessary to release information related to third parties (e.g., persons other than you):

The FOIA may limit our ability to release records concerning third parties, including relatives, colleagues, and clients, without their voluntary, written permission. Have the third party complete and sign both the top and middle portions of the Privacy Waiver and Certification of Identity form we provided, along with proof of identity. This form may be photocopied as necessary.

Not completing the proof of identity and certification process will limit our ability to release any responsive records we find in our files. Such records may be, in whole or in part, exempt from disclosure under FOIA exemptions 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6), which pertains to information the release of which would constitute an unwarranted invasion of the personal privacy of a third party; and 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(7)(C), which permits the withholding of records or information compiled for law enforcement purposes, the release of which could constitute an unwarranted invasion of the personal privacy of third parties.

If we do not receive proof of identity and a completed form within 30 days, we will presume you are no longer interested in pursuing this request and will close your file, but you may file again at a later date. You may return the completed form via e-mail at foia@uspsoig.gov<mailto:foia@uspsoig.gov>, via fax at 703-248-4626, or U.S. Mail at 1735 N. Lynn Street, Arlington, VA 22209.

Sincerely,

Kathy Kikel
Government Information Analyst
USPS-OIG FOIA Public Liaison

From: scott huminski

Here is what the FBI accepted

From: scott huminski
01/09/2017
From: FOIPARequest
01/09/2017
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information Request: FBI Public Records Request
Good morning Mr. Huminski,
If you are seeking records on yourself, you will be required to verify your identity. This verification is required in order to protect your privacy and to ensure that private information about you is not disclosed inappropriately to someone else. Whenever you request information about yourself you will be asked to provide either a notarized statement or a statement signed under penalty of perjury stating that you are the person who you say you are. You may fulfill this requirement by completing and signing the U. S. Department of Justice (Certification of Identity) FORM DOJ-361<https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/u-s-department-of-justice-form-361-certification-of-identity.pdf/view>. Alternatively, you may provide your full name, current address, and date and place of birth and either (1) have your signature on your request letter witnessed by a notary, or (2) include the following statement immediately above the signature on your request letter: "I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. Executed on [date]." If you request information about yourself and do not follow one of these procedures, your request cannot be processed.
The FORM DOJ-361<https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/u-s-department-of-justice-form-361-certification-of-identity.pdf/view> is available at http://www.fbi.gov/foia. Please return the form or letter to one of the following: by mail: FBI, Attn: FOIPA Request, 170 Marcel Drive, Winchester, VA 22602-4843, by fax: (540) 868-4391<tel:%28540%29%20868-4391>/4997 or by e-mail: foiparequest@ic.fbi.gov<javascript:_e(%7B%7D,'cvml','foiparequest@ic.fbi.gov');>. You may submit an attachment listing additional information that may aid in locating responsive records. Please place your name and contact information on the attachment.
Before the FBI is able to proceed with your Freedom of Information Act/Privacy (FOIPA) request pertaining to another individual(s), we require that you submit proof of death or the U. S. Department of Justice CERTIFICATION OF IDENTITY (Authorization to Release Information to Another Person)-FORM DOJ-361<https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/u-s-department-of-justice-form-361-certification-of-identity.pdf/view>, which is also available at http://www.fbi.gov/foia/<http://foia.fbi.gov> or http://www.justice.gov/oip/. Note-please provide the following information on the OPTIONAL: Authorization to Release Information to Another Person line: Your name, title/business (if applicable) and a complete and current mailing address. Acceptable forms of proof of death include; obituaries, death certificates, recognized sources that can be documented, written media, Who's Who in America, FBI file that indicates person is deceased or the Social Security Death Index. A waiver or proof of death is not required if date of birth is 100 years ago or greater. Note-a web link in itself does not satisfy proof of death.

The FBI recognizes an important privacy interest in the requested information. You may receive greater access to these records (if they exist) by providing one of the following: (1) an authorization and consent from the individual(s) (i.e., express authorization and consent of the third party); (2) proof of death (i.e., proof that your subject is deceased); or (3) a justification that the public interest in disclosure outweighs personal privacy (i.e., a clear demonstration that the public interest in disclosure outweighs personal property interests).

Without proof of death or the privacy release, the disclosure of third-party information contained in law enforcement records, should they exist, is considered both a clearly unwarranted invasion of privacy pursuant to Exemption (b)(6), U. S. C. § 552, and an unwarranted invasion of personal privacy, pursuant to Exemption (b)(7)(C), 5 U.S.C. § 552.

The information may be mailed to the address below or faxed to: (540) 868-4391/4997. A scanned copy is acceptable if sent by electronic means.

If you require additional assistance please contact me.

Leanna Ramsey
Public Information Officer
Record/Information Dissemination Section (RIDS) FBI-Records Management Division
170 Marcel Drive, Winchester, VA 22602-4843
PIO: (540) 868-4593
Direct: (540) 868-4854
Fax: (540) 868-4391/4997
Questions E-mail: foipaquestions@ic.fbi.gov<mailto:foipaquestions@ic.fbi.gov>

PLEASE REPLY DIRECTLY TO FOIPAREQUESTS@IC.FBI.GOV

Do you have further questions about the FOI/PA process? Visit us at http://www.fbi.gov/foia

Please check the status of your request online at https://vault.fbi.gov/fdps-1/@@search-fdps. Status updates are performed on a weekly basis.

~WRD053

Download
From: scott huminski
01/09/2017
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information Request: FBI Public Records Request
FOIA request

Justin M. Nelson
Deceased 10/30/2012
Obituaries

http://www.rivernewsonline.com/main.asp?SectionID=3&SubSectionID=28&ArticleID=57106

http://www.dailypress.net/obituaries/2013/05/justin-michael-nelson/

My requests are for news gathering purposes to support my publications on the internet related to crime.

I certify that I, Scott Huminski, DOB 12/1/1959, submitted this FOIA request via the muckrock.com site.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. Executed on 1/9/2017.

-/s/- Scott Huminski (authorized digital signature)

Scott Huminski

From: FOIPARequest
01/09/2017
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information Request: FBI Public Records Request
Mr. Huminski,

Regarding your request for information pertaining to yourself:

The FBI has received your Freedom of Information Act/Privacy (FOIPA) request and it will be forwarded to Initial Processing for review. Your request will be processed under the provisions of FOIPA and a response will be mailed to you at a later date.

Requests for fee waivers and expedited processing will be addressed once your request has been assigned an FOIPA request number. You will receive written notification of the FBI’s decision.

Regarding your request for information pertaining to third parties:

Before the FBI can process your Freedom of Information Act/Privacy (FOIPA) request you must provide the following information highlighted with an “X” Mark.

_____A current and complete mailing address is required as the FBI does not send releases and/or correspondence by electronic means. (Unless the request has already been submitted through eFOIPA.)

__x___Proof of death is required such as: (death certificate, obituary, written media, recognized source that can be documented, Who’s Who in America, FBI file that indicates subject is deceased, or the Social Security Death Index Page). Proof of death is not required if date of birth is 100 years ago or greater but a date of birth is needed

__x___A website link in itself does not satisfy the proof of death requirement (Please provide the actual documentation and source)

_____The U. S. Department of Justice DOJ-361 Form<https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/u-s-department-of-justice-form-361-certification-of-identity.pdf/view> (Certification of Identity) requires an original and legible signature

_____ The U. S. Department of Justice DOJ-361 Form<https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/u-s-department-of-justice-form-361-certification-of-identity.pdf/view> (Certification of Identity) and/or privacy waiver must be completed before a Privacy Act request can be processed. Please send the attachment or attachments independently in either a Word Document or PDF.

_____The U. S. Department of Justice DOJ-361 Form<https://www.fbi.gov/file-repository/u-s-department-of-justice-form-361-certification-of-identity.pdf/view> (Certification of Identity) and/or privacy waiver is not legible, properly sized or cannot be accessed in the submitted format. Please send the attachment or attachments independently in either a Word Document or PDF. The documents must be compatible with Microsoft Office 2007 products.

_____Other information as stated:

_____The attachments cannot be opened in the present format. Please resend either as a pdf or a Word Document.

Please complete and submit the required information in order for the FBI to process your request.

Information regarding the Freedom of Information Act/Privacy is available at http://www.fbi.gov/ or http://www.fbi.gov/foia/. If you require additional assistance please contact me.

Thank you,

Leanna Ramsey
Public Information Officer
Record/Information Dissemination Section (RIDS) FBI-Records Management Division
170 Marcel Drive, Winchester, VA 22602-4843
PIO: (540) 868-4593
Direct: (540) 868-4854
Fax: (540) 868-4391/4997
Questions E-mail: foipaquestions@ic.fbi.gov<mailto:foipaquestions@ic.fbi.gov>

PLEASE REPLY DIRECTLY TO FOIPAREQUESTS@IC.FBI.GOV

Do you have further questions about the FOI/PA process? Visit us at http://www.fbi.gov/foia

Please check the status of your request online at https://vault.fbi.gov/fdps-1/@@search-fdps. Status updates are performed on a weekly basis.

~WRD217

Download
From: scott huminski
01/09/2017
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information Request: FBI Public Records Request
See obituaries for Justin M. Nelson in previous muckrock message.

Obituaries from The Northwoods River News and from the Daily Press, Wisconsin

have been sent to the email address you provided as a .pdf file. Thank you -- scott huminski

From: FOIPARequest
01/09/2017
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information Request: FBI Public Records Request
Mr. Huminski,

I received the obituary for Justin Michael Nelson; however, in your initial request you also requested information on:

“All records and documents and police reports referencing or mentioning or pertaining to,
Scott Huminski, Bonita Springs, FL
Trevor M Nelson DOB 8/2/1998, residence Glendale AZ
Justin M Nelson DOB 6/19/1976 (deceased), residence Glendale AZ
Debra M Riffel DOB 11/22/1964, residence Glendale AZ”
Will you be providing third party signed waivers for these two individuals (highlighted above) or would you like to just proceed with your requests on yourself and Mr. Justin Michael Nelson?

Respectfully,

Leanna Ramsey
Public Information Officer
Record/Information Dissemination Section (RIDS) FBI-Records Management Division
170 Marcel Drive, Winchester, VA 22602-4843
PIO: (540) 868-4593
Direct: (540) 868-4854
Fax: (540) 868-4391/4997
Questions E-mail: foipaquestions@ic.fbi.gov<mailto:foipaquestions@ic.fbi.gov>

PLEASE REPLY DIRECTLY TO FOIPAREQUESTS@IC.FBI.GOV

Do you have further questions about the FOI/PA process? Visit us at http://www.fbi.gov/foia

Please check the status of your request online at https://vault.fbi.gov/fdps-1/@@search-fdps. Status updates are performed on a weekly basis.

~WRD219

Download
From: scott huminski
01/11/2017
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information Request: FBI Public Records Request
Just myself and Nelson thank you...
We'll automatically follow-up with the agency in 4 weeks.
Disable
Follow Up

From: FOIA

Dear Mr. Huminski:

As per U.S. Postal Service regulations found at 39 C.F.R. § 266.6, under the Privacy Act of 1974, 5 U.S.C. § 552a, requesters must present personal identification, sufficient to identify themselves, before the OIG may release some or all of their personal information. Therefore, in order to continue work on your request, I will need you to complete the attached form and submit to me no later than Wednesday, February 8, 2016.

I will also need copies of signed forms from the other individuals you requested information on. In the event any of these individuals are deceased, I will need a copy of a death certificate as proof.

If you have any questions regarding this requirement, you may contact me at the phone number below.

Sincerely,

Kathy Kikel
Government Information Analyst
USPS-OIG Public FOIA Liaison
703-248-2100

From: scott huminski

Scanned copy of signed ID form emailed to you at foia@uspsoig.gov. I have copies of the obituaries concerning Justin M. Nelson as provided to the FBI for FOIA. I do not have access to the death certificate.

Please process the request as to me alone if obituary is not sufficient for Nelson. thank you -- scott huminski

From: FOIA

Dear Mr. Huminski,

This acknowledges receipt of the completed USPS OIG Certification of Identity and Privacy Waiver form. However, I also need proof of identification. Examples of sufficient identification are a copy of a valid driver's license, Medicare card, and employee identification card, along with a completed, dated, and signed OIG Privacy Waiver and Certification of Identity. A copy of our Privacy Waiver and Certification of Identification form is enclosed. When we receive the proof of identity and the completed form, we will process your request. We will search for and review any documents we locate, and issue a determination letter under established FOIA guidelines.

As per your request below, once all proof of identity documentation is received, I will process any responsive documents to you alone.

Sincerely,

Kathy Kikel

Government Information Analyst

USPS-OIG FOIA Public Liaison

From: scott huminski

Email sent to you with a scan of my medicare card.

If it helps, my request is centered around death threats i received in the U.S. Mails which was investigated by USPIS investigator Mark Cavic of the Fort Myers USPIS. thank you -- scott huminski

From: FOIA

RE: FOIA No. 2017-IGFP-00171

Dear Mr. Huminski:

Please see attached my response to your FOIA request to the Office of Inspector General (OIG).

Sincerely,

Kathy Kikel
Government Information Analyst
USPS-OIG FOIA Public Liaison

Files

pages

Close