Maggie Walker Governor's School OCR Complaint Documents

Tom Nash filed this request with the Department of Education, Office of Civil Rights of the United States of America.
Tracking # 14-01232-F
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Tom Nash

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

Any reports or memos that address any complaints received regarding the Maggie L. Walker Governor's School in Richmond, VA from 2009 through the time this request is processed.

I also request that, if appropriate, fees be waived as I believe this request is in the public interest. The requested documents will be made available to the general public free of charge as part of the public information service at MuckRock.com, processed by a representative of the news media/press and is made in the process of news gathering and not for commercial usage.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Tom Nash

From: ED FOIA Manager

[cid:image003.jpg@01CF6482.8FB31CC0]UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

FOIA REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

FOIA Tracking Number: 14-01232-F
E-mail Address: requests@muckrock.com
Name of Requester: Tom Nash
Date of Request: April 25, 2014
Date Request Received: April 30, 2014
Your request (below) has been forwarded to the appropriate office within the Department to search for responsive documents. If you have any questions regarding the status of your request, please contact the FOIA Requester Service Center at (202) 401–8365 or by e-mail at EDFOIAManager@ed.gov<mailto:EDFOIAManager@ed.gov> (please include the case tracking number).

Thank you.

From: Frazier, Wanda

Good afternoon Mr. Nash,

I need you to call me regarding the FOIA request you submitted to ED FOIA Manager on April 25, 2014. My number is (202)453-5911.

From: Tom Nash

Hello Mrs. Frazier,

I called that number and was told you didn't work there, so I'm a little confused. Do you want to go ahead and give me a call? I'm at (617) 999-5155

Thanks

Tom

From: Frazier, Wanda

Mr. Nash,

In your FOIA request you asked for copies of memo's and reports that address complaints against Maggie L. Walker Governor's School. We don't have any memo's or reports. Therefore can you clarify what documents you are requesting.
Thanks
Wanda R. Frazier
Investigator/FOIA Coordinator
Department of Education
Office for Civil Rights
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washignton, DC 20202-1475
(202) 453-5911 direct number
(202) 453-6021 fax

From: Frazier, Wanda

Good afternoon Mr. Nash,

As stated in my previous email we need you to clarify what documents you are requesting. If I don't hear from you in 10 days I will close your request.
Thanks
Wanda Frazier
Equal Opportunity Specialist
Department of Education
Office for Civil Rights
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202-1475
(202) 453-5911 direct line
(202) 453-6021 Fax

From: Tom Nash

Hi Ms. Frazier,

As we discussed, if you could please send a copy of any complaints filed with your office regarding the Maggie Walker School and any notification letters issued I would appreciate it.

Thanks

Tom

From: Jones, Kim

June 23, 2014 RE: FOIA Request No. 14-01615-F Dear Tom Nash: This is in response to your letter dated 06/20/2014 requesting information pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. § 552. Your request was received in this office on 06/23/2014 and forwarded to the primary responsible office(s) for action. Please refer to the FOIA tracking number to check the status of your FOIA request at the link provided below: http://www2.ed.gov/policy/gen/leg/foia/fy2013-foia-request-status-log.pdf . Any future correspondence or questions regarding your request, please contact the FOIA Public Liaison at 202-401-8365 or EDFOIAManager@ed.gov Sincerely, ED FOIA Manager

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on April 24, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #14-01232-F.

Thank you for your help.

From: Ehrenfeld, Jane

Mr. Nash,
Your request has been processed and currently our response is going through our internal review process. It should be issued to you soon.
Best,

Jane Dimyan Ehrenfeld
Attorney
Office for Civil Rights
U.S. Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202
Phone: (202) 260-0790
Fax: (202) 453-6021

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on April 24, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #14-01232-F.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on April 24, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #14-01232-F.

Thank you for your help.

From: Jones, Kim

This is the Department's acknowledgment of your request for information pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. § 552. Your request was forwarded to the primary responsible office(s) for action.
Any future correspondence or questions regarding your request, please contact the FOIA Public Liaison at 202-401-8365 or
EDFOIAManager@ed.gov

From: Ehrenfeld, Jane

Thank you for your message. I apologize for the delay in responding to you; I was out on maternity leave.
We are still waiting for a response from DOJ on an issue of concern with the documents you requested. We will be in touch as soon as we have heard from them.
Best,
Jane

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on April 24, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #14-01232-F.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on April 24, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #14-01232-F.

Thank you for your help.

From: Tom Nash

Hello,

I received a response today to the request I filed regarding the University of Richmond to the email that belongs to a totally different request. Please review the request below, number #14-01232-F, and let me know when I can expect responsive documents.

Thanks

Tom

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on April 24, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #14-01232-F.

Thank you for your help.

From: Department of Education, Office of Civil Rights

A cover letter granting the request and outlining any exempted materials, if any.

From: Department of Education, Office of Civil Rights

A copy of documents responsive to the request.

Files

pages

Close