Internet Crime Complaint Center Database

Mary Connaughton Pioneer Institute filed this request with the Federal Bureau of Investigation of the United States of America.
Tracking # 1259047-000
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Mary Connaughton

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

The database or spreadsheet of all complaints submitted through the Internet Crime Complaint Center from January 1, 2011 until the date that this request is processed.

I also request that, if appropriate, fees be waived as I believe this request is in the public interest. The requested documents will be made available to the general public free of charge as part of the public information service at MuckRock.com, processed by a representative of the news media/press and is made in the process of news gathering and not for commercial usage.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Mary Connaughton

From: Sobonya, David P.

Dear Ms. Conaughton,

The FBI has received your Freedom of Information Act/Privacy (FOIPA) request and it will be forwarded to Initial Processing for review. Your request will be processed under the provisions of FOIPA and a response will be mailed to you at a later date.

Requests for fee waivers and expedited processing will be addressed once your request has been assigned an FOIPA request number. You will receive written notification of the FBI’s decision.

Information regarding the Freedom of Information Act/Privacy is available at http://www.fbi.gov/ or http://www.fbi.gov/foia/. If you require additional assistance please contact the Public Information Officer.

Thank you,

David P. Sobonya
Public Information Officer/Legal Admin. Specialist
Record/Information Dissemination Section (RIDS)
FBI-Records Management Division
170 Marcel Drive, Winchester, VA 22602-4843
PIO: (540) 868-4593
Direct: (540) 868-4286
Fax: (540) 868-4391/4997

From: Federal Bureau of Investigation - FBI

An acknowledgement letter, stating the request is being processed.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047.

Thank you for your help.

From: Sobonya, David P.

Dear Mary Conaughton,

Due to the voluminous requests that the FBI receives on a daily, weekly, monthly and annual basis, requesters are encouraged to utilize the online option to Check the Status of Your FOIPA Request by following the instructions in the attached sample. The last status update was performed on May 7, 2014.

Upon entering your FOIPA Request Number, the requester will be provided one of the following STATUS RESULTS:

The FBI’s FOI/PA Program is processing your request in accordance to the Freedom of Information and Privacy Act guidelines. *The Disclosure analyst is making a line by line, page by page review of the records to determine if any redactions are required pursuant to subsections of Title 5, U. S. Code, Section 552 and 552a. Upon completion, the records are forwarded to a supervisor for review, if approved, a release will be forthcoming.

The FBI’s FOI/PA Program is searching the FBI’s indices for potentially responsive documents. You may be contacted via form letter for all fees and/or negotiation issues that may apply. *Requests are received by Initial Processing (IP) where they are opened, assigned a FOIPA Request Number and correspondence mailed to the requester. The IP analyst searches for, retrieves and reviews potentially responsive records. If responsive records are located, they are forwarded to Disclosure for processing.

The FBI’s FOI/PA Program has identified potential responsive information to your request(s) and is forwarding this request(s) for assignment to a FOI/PA Legal Administrative Specialist (LAS) for further processing. *Responsive records are forwarded to the Perfected Backlog where they await assignment to a Disclosure analyst for processing.

The information you have requested is part of a previously requested subject matter and will be preprocessed in accordance to the prior releasable information. *A previous request has already been made for the subject matter.

The request is currently in appeal status with the Office of Information Policy (OIP). *The FBI is not involved in the appeals process so please contact OIP’s Customer Service regarding appeal matters at (202) 514-3642.

The request is currently in litigation with Federal Court

The FOIPA number entered has been closed, and appropriate correspondence has been sent to the address on file. *Correspondence and/or a release of records were recently mailed. If you recently had a change of address please contact us at foiparequest@ic.fbi.gov.

Please contact me if you require further assistance.

Thank you,

*Material is provided for information purposes

David P. Sobonya
Public Information Officer/Legal Admin. Specialist
Record/Information Dissemination Section (RIDS)
FBI-Records Management Division
170 Marcel Drive, Winchester, VA 22602-4843
PIO: (540) 868-4593
Direct: (540) 868-4286
Fax: (540) 868-4391/4997

From: Bryant, Amy E.

Good Morning Ms. Connaughton,

I am contacting you regarding your FBI FOIA request regarding the Internet Crime Complaint Center Database from January 1, 2011, through April 1, 2014.

While trying to locate the requested documents I was informed that that the request needs to be narrowed due to the number of results. Is there a certain type/category of crime that you request?

Please let me know how you would like this narrowed so we can move forward with the request.

Thank you and have a great day,

Amy Bryant, LAS
Records Management Division
Federal Bureau of Investigation
540-868-4895

From: Mary Connaughton

Please narrow the scope to all complaints involving telephone communications to people over the age of 65 and funds being transferred through Western Union.

From: Bryant, Amy E.

Ms. Connaughton,

Thank you so much for your response. This will help greatly.

Amy

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047.

Thank you for your help.

From: Bryant, Amy E.

Good Morning Ms. Connaughton,

Due to the size of the information pulled by the request (though we narrowed it previously), the information is still being gathered.

If you would be interested in further narrowing your request I can pass that information along.

Thank you!

Amy Bryant, GIS
Records Management Division
Federal Bureau of Investigation

From: Bryant, Amy E.

Good Morning Ms. Connaughton,

I am still trying to figure out a way to narrow this request down so I can get you the information you are looking for. Is there a specific thing you are trying to find? Perhaps we can narrow the timeframe down to a 6 month window of your choosing, see what information we have, and go from there as far as expanding the time frame back out if the information you receive is what you are looking for? Limiting the timeframe, at this point, may be our best bet. Please feel free to call me so we can discuss available options.

Thank you,

Amy

Amy Bryant
540-868-4895

From: MuckRock

Amy, hello!
Could we narrow the search window to January 1st, 2014 to -June 30th 2014? Thanks!

From: Bryant, Amy E.

Good Morning Ms. Connaughton,

Thank you! I will pass this information along. It should speed up the process.

Amy

From: Bryant, Amy E.

Good Morning Ms. Connaughton,

Thank you for your continued patience as we prepare this request for you.

I have reached out to the field and have received the requested information, however it is not available in a "database or spreadsheet" format. What I have are the complaint forms that range from four to seven pages each, with the average length seeming to be about five pages.

FOIA law does not require us to put this information into spreadsheet or database form for you.

Are you still interested in receiving the information in the available format?

Please let me know how you would like to proceed with this request.

Thank you!

Amy

From: Mary Connaughton

Yes, please - existing formatting is acceptable.
Thanks so much,

From: Federal Bureau of Investigation - FBI

A letter stating the request for reduced or waived fees has been rejected.

From: Federal Bureau of Investigation - FBI

The user must agree to pay fees in order for the process to be continued being processed. No payment is due at this time.

From: Mary Connaughton

Hello-
This is an agreement to pay the $125 for duplication via CD option. Please let us know if this is enough to move forward.
Best,

From: Bryant, Amy E.

Thank you, Ms. Connaughton, we will move forward with the request.

Amy

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thank you for your help.

From: Bryant, Amy E.

Good Morning Ms. Connaughton,

This request has been forwarded to the Disclosure units for processing.

Thank you!

Amy

From: MuckRock

Hello Ms. Bryant,

Thank you for your message! Can you please provide an email address that may be used to follow up with the Disclosures Unit directly?

Thank you!

From: Bryant, Amy E.

Good Morning Ms. Connaughton,

We don’t have e-mail addresses to the different units to check on cases status, but you can find the current status at www.fbi.gov/foia<http://www.fbi.gov/foia>.

Thank you and have a great day!

Amy

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 27, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #1259047-000.

Thanks for your help, and let me know if further clarification is needed.

From: Federal Bureau of Investigation

A copy of documents responsive to the request.

From: Federal Bureau of Investigation

A copy of documents responsive to the request.

From: Mary Connaughton Pioneer Institute

Thank you very much. Please bill us $25 for the remaining information.
Regards,
Mary

Files

pages

Close