Guantanamo Periodic Review Board representatives (Department of Justice)

Todd Feathers filed this request with the Department of Justice of the United States of America.
Tracking # 14-135
Est. Completion None
Status
Fix Required

Communications

From: Todd Feathers

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

-The name and job title of your agency's representative on the Periodic Review Board, which is charged with assessing the detainees at Guantanamo Bay. The existence of this Board, as well as your agency's involvement, has been widely reported. The most recent example is here: http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jan/28/public-look-guantanamo-detainee-review-board-obama

-All Talking Points memos generated within, or shared with, your agency regarding the Periodic Review Board from January 1, 2011 to the date this request is processed.

I also request that, if appropriate, fees be waived as I believe this request is in the public interest. The requested documents will be made available to the general public free of charge as part of the public information service at MuckRock.com, processed by a representative of the news media/press and is made in the process of news gathering and not for commercial usage.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Todd Feathers

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Jan. 28, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Jan. 28, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Jan. 28, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Jan. 28, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MRUFOIA Requests

Mr. Feathers,

Please see the attached response to your FOIA request. Please note, your request has been assigned tracking number EMRUFOIA042814.
Thanks

MRU FOIA

From: Bell, Criste (OIG)

Good Afternoon,

Please see the attached response from our FOIA Specialist regarding
your inquiry.
Thanks,

Criste Bell

Office of the General Counsel/OIG

Department of Justice

From: Gleaves, Lani (NSD)

Todd Feathers
Muck Rock News
PO Box 55819
DEPT MR 10314
Boston, MA 02205-5819

Re: FOIA/PA #14-135

Dear Mr. Feathers:

This is to acknowledge receipt of your email dated June 6, 2014, misdirected to the Mail Referral Unit seeking "The name and job title of this agency's representative on the Periodic Review Board, which is charged with assessing the detainees at Guantanamo Bay; All Talking Points memos generated within, or shared with, your agency regarding the Periodic Review Board from January 1, 2011 to the date this request is processed." Our FOIA office received your Freedom of Information request on June 9, 2014.

Our policy is to process FOIA requests on a first-in, first-out basis. Consistent with this policy, every effort will be made to respond to your request as quickly as possible. The actual processing time will depend upon the complexity of the request, whether it involves sensitive or voluminous records, and whether consultations with other agencies or agency components are appropriate.

Also, you requested a waiver of processing fees. Your reason for a fee waiver does not meet the fee waiver threshold. Therefore, your request for a fee waiver has been denied. It has been determined that you are an "all other use" requester. As such, we will process your request up to the first 100 pages and the first two hours of search time at no charge. If after processing the free portion, additional information exists, you will be notified and given the opportunity to provide an agreement to pay fees for the additional information.

If you are not satisfied with this response, you may administratively appeal by writing to the Director, Office of Information Policy, United States Department of Justice, Suite 11050, 1425 New York Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20530-0001, or you may submit an appeal through this Office's eFOIA portal at http://www.justice.gov/oip/efoia-portal.html. Your appeal must be received within sixty days from the date of this letter. If you submit your appeal by mail, both the letter and the envelope should be clearly marked "Freedom of Information Act Appeal."

Sincerely,

Arnetta Mallory

Arnetta Mallory
FOIA Coordinator

From: Bell, Criste (OIG)

Good Afternoon,

Please see the attached response from our FOIA Specialist regarding
your inquiry.
Thanks,

Criste Bell

Office of the General Counsel/OIG

Department of Justice

Files

pages

Close