FOIA March Madness 2017 - III - Appeal logs, procedures, letters, opinions (Drug Enforcement Administration)

Beryl Lipton filed this request with the Drug Enforcement Administration of the United States of America.
Tracking # DOJ-2017-003326 ; 17-00421-F
Est. Completion None
Status
Fix Required

Communications

From: Beryl Lipton

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

1. Any available log of appeals submitted to this agency or the agency tasked with processing Freedom of Information Act appeals for this division. Please provide such logs for the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016. Please, if possible, include with the log the following items:
• the request number associated with the FOIA in question
• the appeal number assigned to the appeal
• the description of the subject matter addressed by the request
• the division or office of initial receipt
• the date on which the appeal was received
• the date on which the appeal was closed
• the determination or final disposition status of the appeal

2. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to reverse, in whole or in part, the decision of the initial request agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

3. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to remand the request to the appropriate agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

4. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to affirm the decision of the initial agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

5. Any instructive or guiding materials provided to and/or utilized by employees of this department’s Freedom of Information Act office. Please include any manuals, procedural materials, reference guides, checklists, training materials, flow charts, directives, memorandums, legal decisions, presentations, or similar material used in the process of an appeal by this office or the office tasked to process FOIA appeals for this office. Any guiding materials used for the preparation of an appeal package should be considered responsive to, though not the entirety of, this element of this request.

6. The name and contact information for the appropriate appeal authority to whom appeals for this agency should be directed. If such information exists as part of a template letter sent to requesters, provision of this document will be considered satisfactory.

Please provide responsive materials on a rolling basis.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Beryl Lipton

From: Drug Enforcement Administration

An acknowledgement letter, stating the request is being processed.

From: King, Stephanie A

Mr. Lipton,

Please see DEA's response to your FOIA request dated March 14, 2017. Please contact me with any questions.

Thank you,

Stephanie King
FOIA/PA Unit (SARF)
Paralegal
202-307-7602

From: MuckRock

To Whom It May Concern:

Could you please confirm you've received this request, which was forwarded from the DEA?

Thanks so much for your help.

Best wishes,
Beryl

From: OIP-NoReply@usdoj.gov

This message is to confirm your request submission to the FOIAonline application: View Request. Request information is as follows: (https://foiaonline.regulations.gov:443/foia/action/public/view/request?objectId=090004d281246fd2)
* Tracking Number: DOJ-2017-003326
* Requester Name: Beryl Lipton
* Date Submitted: 04/03/2017
* Request Status: Submitted
* Description: FOIA request

From: Kochurka, Kimberley (OIP)

Good morning,

This email is for Beryl Lipton, regarding FOIA request DOJ-2017-003258, for administrative appeal logs and other related materials. I am emailing to inquire about the scope - as in, is the requester interested in obtaining a log for all Department components as opposed to only the three components we have received requests for (which I believe so far are BOP, Interpol, and DEA)?

Please let me know at your earliest convenience.

Thank you,

Kim Kochurka
Government Information Specialist
Office of Information Policy
U.S. Department of Justice
Kimberley.Kochurka@usdoj.gov <mailto:Kimberley.Kochurka@usdoj.gov>

Files

pages

Close