FOIA March Madness 2017 - III - Appeal logs, procedures, letters, opinions (Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals)

Beryl Lipton filed this request with the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals of the United States of America.
Tracking # 17-03
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Beryl Lipton

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

1. Any available log of appeals submitted to this agency or the agency tasked with processing Freedom of Information Act appeals for this division. Please provide such logs for the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016. Please, if possible, include with the log the following items:
• the request number associated with the FOIA in question
• the appeal number assigned to the appeal
• the description of the subject matter addressed by the request
• the division or office of initial receipt
• the date on which the appeal was received
• the date on which the appeal was closed
• the determination or final disposition status of the appeal

2. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to reverse, in whole or in part, the decision of the initial request agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

3. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to remand the request to the appropriate agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

4. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to affirm the decision of the initial agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

5. Any instructive or guiding materials provided to and/or utilized by employees of this department’s Freedom of Information Act office. Please include any manuals, procedural materials, reference guides, checklists, training materials, flow charts, directives, memorandums, legal decisions, presentations, or similar material used in the process of an appeal by this office or the office tasked to process FOIA appeals for this office. Any guiding materials used for the preparation of an appeal package should be considered responsive to, though not the entirety of, this element of this request.

6. The name and contact information for the appropriate appeal authority to whom appeals for this agency should be directed. If such information exists as part of a template letter sent to requesters, provision of this document will be considered satisfactory.

Please provide responsive materials on a rolling basis.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Beryl Lipton

From: ASBCA NCR HQ Mailbox FOIA

CLASSIFICATION: UNCLASSIFIED

Dear Ms. Lipton,

This acknowledges receipt of your FOIA request, by email dated 14 March 2017, which has been assigned tracking number ASBCA FOIA No. 17-03.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at the phone number or email address provided below. You may also contact the Board's General Counsel, Catherine Stanton, by phone at 703-681-8501 or by email to asbca.foia@mail.mil.
Regards,

Colby L. Sullins
Staff Attorney
Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals
asbca.foia@mail.mil
703.681.8561
CLASSIFICATION: UNCLASSIFIED

From: ASBCA NCR HQ Mailbox FOIA

CLASSIFICATION: UNCLASSIFIED

Ms. Lipton,

We noted that you sent your recent FOIA request, FOIA No. 17-03, to the email address of the Board's Recorder rather than to its FOIA email address and we wondered whether there was a particular reason for that. In particular, we are concerned that there may be some out-of-date or incorrect contact information floating around, or that you were unable to locate the Board's FOIA webpage (http://www.asbca.mil/FOIA/foia.html). If there is a problem, we would greatly appreciate any information that you can give us that might help us track it down and resolve it.

You can reach me by phone at the number provided below; my General Counsel, Catherine Stanton, by phone at 703-681-8501; or either of us by email at the Board's FOIA email address, asbca.foia@mail.mil.

Very respectfully,

Colby L. Sullins
Staff Attorney
Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals
703.681.8561

CLASSIFICATION: UNCLASSIFIED

From: MuckRock

Hello!

Thanks for acknowledging our request so quickly! I'm not sure about the improper email address, but it's since been corrected on this end; it doesn't seem as though we have any other requests with your agency sitting in limbo. I really appreciate you taking the time to clarify.

Best wishes,
Beryl

From: ASBCA NCR HQ Mailbox FOIA

CLASSIFICATION: UNCLASSIFIED

Dear Ms. Lipton,

Please find attached the Board's response to your FOIA request, ASBCA FOIA No. 17-03.

For further assistance and to discuss any aspect of your request, you have the right to contact the FOIA Public Liaison, Mr. Jim Hogan, at 571-372-0462. Additionally, you have the right to contact the Office of Government Information Services (OGIS) to inquire about the FOIA mediation services they offer. The contact information for OGIS is: Office of Government Information Services, National Archives and Records Administration, 8601 Adelphi Road-OGIS, College Park, MD 20740 6001; email to ogis@nara.gov; and telephone at 202-741-5770, toll free at 1-877-684-6448, or facsimile at 202-741-5769.

If you are not satisfied with this response, you have the right to appeal to Mr. Paul Jacobsmeyer, Chief, Policy, Appeals, and Litigation Branch at 1155 Defense Pentagon, Washington, DC 20301-1155; email to OSD.FOIA-APPEAL@mail.mil. Your appeal must be postmarked or electronically transmitted within 90 days of the date of this response.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at the phone number or email address provided below. You may also contact the Board's General Counsel, Catherine Stanton, by phone at 703-681-8501 or by email to asbca.foia@mail.mil.

Very respectfully,

Colby L. Sullins
Staff Attorney
Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals
703.681.8531
CLASSIFICATION: UNCLASSIFIED

Files

pages

Close