FOIA March Madness 2017 - II - Appeal logs, procedures, letters, opinions (Federal Highway Administration)

Beryl Lipton filed this request with the Federal Highway Administration of the United States of America.
Tracking # 2017-0193
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Beryl Lipton

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

1. Any available log of appeals submitted to this agency or the agency tasked with processing Freedom of Information Act appeals for this division. Please provide such logs for the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016. Please, if possible, include with the log the following items:
• the request number associated with the FOIA in question
• the appeal number assigned to the appeal
• the description of the subject matter addressed by the request
• the division or office of initial receipt
• the date on which the appeal was received
• the date on which the appeal was closed
• the determination or final disposition status of the appeal

2. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to reverse, in whole or in part, the decision of the initial request agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

3. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to remand the request to the appropriate agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

4. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to affirm the decision of the initial agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

5. Any instructive or guiding materials provided to and/or utilized by employees of this department’s Freedom of Information Act office. Please include any manuals, procedural materials, reference guides, checklists, training materials, flow charts, directives, memorandums, legal decisions, presentations, or similar material used in the process of an appeal by this office or the office tasked to process FOIA appeals for this office. Any guiding materials used for the preparation of an appeal package should be considered responsive to, though not the entirety of, this element of this request.

6. The name and contact information for the appropriate appeal authority to whom appeals for this agency should be directed. If such information exists as part of a template letter sent to requesters, provision of this document will be considered satisfactory.

Please provide responsive materials on a rolling basis.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Beryl Lipton

From: FOIA Officer (FHWA)

Good afternoon. So, I address the requester properly, is Beryl a Mister or Miss? Also, do you have a telephone number so I can enter in our database? Sorry but I have to ask. Thank you for understanding.

From: FOIA Officer (FHWA)

Attached is the Federal Highway Administration's (FHWA) acknowledgment of your Mar. 14, 2017 Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Request. The request has been assigned FOIA Control No. 2017-0193. Please let me know if you have any questions. Thank you.

Trevor Cole
Legal Assistant
Operations and Administration Division
Office of the Chief Counsel
Federal Highway Administration
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., E82-113
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-0764

From: Beryl Lipton

Hello Mr. Cole,

Thanks so much for your letter and for getting the salutation correct! Do you happen to have an email address for Mr. Crook so that I might follow up with him directly?

Best,
Beryl

From: FOIA Officer (FHWA)

Good morning,

Mr. Crook’s e-mail address is Brian.Crook@dot.gov<mailto:Brian.Crook@dot.gov>.
Best regards,

Joshua Boudreaux
Program Analyst
Operations and Administration Division (HCC-40)
FHWA Office of the Chief Counsel
202-366-0761
joshua.boudreaux@dot.gov

From: Federal Highway Administration

A copy of documents responsive to the request.

From: Crook, Brian (FHWA)

Ms. Lipton,

I am the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) attorney who was assigned to process your FOIA request. I would like to inform you that the FHWA sent out the response package to your FOIA request today. The package includes a two-page letter and a CD that contains the responsive materials. A copy of the letter is attached to this email. You may contact me if you have any questions.

Kind regards,

Brian Crook
Attorney-Advisor
Operations and Administration Division (HCC-40)
FHWA Office of the Chief Counsel
202-366-4928
brian.crook@dot.gov<mailto:brian.crook@dot.gov>
E84-125

Files

pages

Close