FOIA March Madness 2017 - II - Appeal logs, procedures, letters, opinions (Federal Emergency Management Agency)

Beryl Lipton filed this request with the Federal Emergency Management Agency of the United States of America.
Tracking # 2017-FEFO-01393, 2017-HQFO-00681
Due April 17, 2017
Est. Completion None
Status
Awaiting Response

Communications

From: Beryl Lipton

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

1. Any available log of appeals submitted to this agency or the agency tasked with processing Freedom of Information Act appeals for this division. Please provide such logs for the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016. Please, if possible, include with the log the following items:
• the request number associated with the FOIA in question
• the appeal number assigned to the appeal
• the description of the subject matter addressed by the request
• the division or office of initial receipt
• the date on which the appeal was received
• the date on which the appeal was closed
• the determination or final disposition status of the appeal

2. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to reverse, in whole or in part, the decision of the initial request agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

3. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to remand the request to the appropriate agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

4. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to affirm the decision of the initial agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

5. Any instructive or guiding materials provided to and/or utilized by employees of this department’s Freedom of Information Act office. Please include any manuals, procedural materials, reference guides, checklists, training materials, flow charts, directives, memorandums, legal decisions, presentations, or similar material used in the process of an appeal by this office or the office tasked to process FOIA appeals for this office. Any guiding materials used for the preparation of an appeal package should be considered responsive to, though not the entirety of, this element of this request.

6. The name and contact information for the appropriate appeal authority to whom appeals for this agency should be directed. If such information exists as part of a template letter sent to requesters, provision of this document will be considered satisfactory.

Please provide responsive materials on a rolling basis.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Beryl Lipton

From: US DHS Federal Emergency Management Agency FOIA Office

Good Morning,
Attached is our acknowledgment of your FEMA FOIA request.  If you need to contact this office again concerning your request, please provide the FEMA  reference number. This will enable us to quickly retrieve the information you are seeking and reduce our response time. This office can be reached at 866-431-0486.
Regards,
Paula Presley Program Specialist – Disclosure Branch Division of Information Management Office of the Chief Administrative Officer Federal Emergency Management Agency U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Office – 202-212-5877 Mobile - 202-320-0187 Paula.presley@fema.dhs.gov

From: Presley, Paula

Paula Presley
Program Specialist – Disclosure Branch
Division of Information Management
Office of the Chief Administrative Officer
Federal Emergency Management Agency
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Office 202-212-5877
Mobile 202-320-0187
Paula.presley@fema.dhs.gov<mailto:Paula.presley@fema.dhs.gov>

From: Holzerland, William

Ms. Lipton:

This is in reference to the FOIA request you submitted on March 14, 2017, reference number 2017-FEFO-01393. As I understand it, your request is in the queue to be processed, for purposes of addressing items #1-5. However, I am happy to address item #6 without delay.

I recently joined FEMA and am now the FOIA and Privacy Act appeals officer for the agency. Appeals can be submitted electronically via fema-foia@fema.dhs.gov<mailto:fema-foia@fema.dhs.gov>, or alternatively, via mail at the following address:

FEMA
Office of the Chief Administrative Officer
Information Management Division (FOIA Appeals)
500 C Street, SW, Seventh Floor, Mail Stop 3172
Washington, D.C. 20472-3172

Thank you and have a good afternoon.

Regards,
Bill

William H. Holzerland
Senior Director for Information Management
Office of the Chief Administrative Officer
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Desk phone: 202-212-7719
iPhone: 202-716-0405
william.holzerland@fema.dhs.gov<mailto:William.holzerland@fema.dhs.gov>

From: Beryl Lipton

Hello Bill,

Thank you so much for the update and the provision of information regarding Item 6. I'll look forward to hearing from your department again, and I hope that all is lovely in the interim.

Best wishes,
Beryl

From: FEMA-FOIA

Good Afternoon,

I have emailed the processing team to inquire on the status of your request, and to receive an estimation on completion of your request.

As soon as I hear back I will email you this information.

Paula Presley
Program Specialist - Disclosure Branch
Division of Information Management
Office of the Chief Administrative Officer
Federal Emergency Management Agency
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Office 202-212-5877
Mobile 202-320-0187
Paula.presley@fema.dhs.gov<mailto:Paula.presley@fema.dhs.gov>

From: FOIA

Good Morning,

Thank you for contacting the DHS Privacy Office. We apologize for the delay, but we are still processing your request 2017-HQFO-00681. We are working as expeditiously as possible. Thank you.
Regards,
The Privacy Office
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
245 Murray Lane SW
STOP-0655
Washington, D.C. 20528-0655
Phone: 202-343-1743 or 866-431-0486
Fax: 202-343-4011

From: FOIA

Thank you for contacting the DHS Privacy Office. At this time 2017-HQFO-00681 is still being handled according to FOIA processes. If any additional information is needed someone from our office will reach out to you. Thank you.

Regards,

The Privacy Office
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
245 Murray Lane SW
STOP-0655
Washington, D.C. 20528-0655
Phone: 202-343-1743 or 866-431-0486
Fax: 202-343-4011
E-mail: foia@hq.dhs.gov<mailto:foia@hq.dhs.gov>

This communication, along with any attachments, is covered by federal and state law governing electronic communications and may contain confidential and legally privileged information. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution, use or copying of this message is strictly prohibited. If you have received this in error, please reply immediately to the sender and delete this message. Thank you

From: FOIA

Good afternoon,

Thank you for contacting the DHS Privacy Office. At this time 2017-HQFO-00681 is still being handled according to FOIA processes. If any additional information is needed someone from our office will reach out to you. Thank you.
Regards,

The Privacy Office
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
245 Murray Lane SW
STOP-0655
Washington, D.C. 20528-0655
Phone: 202-343-1743 or 866-431-0486
Fax: 202-343-4011
E-mail: foia@hq.dhs.gov<mailto:foia@hq.dhs.gov>

From: FOIA

Good Morning,
Thank you for contacting the DHS Privacy Office. We apologize for the delay, but we are still processing your request 2017-HQFO-00681. We are working as expeditiously as possible. Thank you.
Regards,
The Privacy Office
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
245 Murray Lane SW
STOP-0655
Washington, D.C. 20528-0655

Files

pages

Close