FOIA March Madness 2017 - II - Appeal logs, procedures, letters, opinions (Amtrak)

Beryl Lipton filed this request with the Amtrak of the United States of America .
Tracking #

20170323145309315, 17-FOI-00105

20170323145309315

Status
Completed

Communications

From: Beryl Lipton

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

1. Any available log of appeals submitted to this agency or the agency tasked with processing Freedom of Information Act appeals for this division. Please provide such logs for the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016. Please, if possible, include with the log the following items:
• the request number associated with the FOIA in question
• the appeal number assigned to the appeal
• the description of the subject matter addressed by the request
• the division or office of initial receipt
• the date on which the appeal was received
• the date on which the appeal was closed
• the determination or final disposition status of the appeal

2. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to reverse, in whole or in part, the decision of the initial request agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

3. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to remand the request to the appropriate agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

4. All appeal letters and opinion letters associated with appeals for which the determination was to affirm the decision of the initial agency. Please provide such letters for appeals closed during the period from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

5. Any instructive or guiding materials provided to and/or utilized by employees of this department’s Freedom of Information Act office. Please include any manuals, procedural materials, reference guides, checklists, training materials, flow charts, directives, memorandums, legal decisions, presentations, or similar material used in the process of an appeal by this office or the office tasked to process FOIA appeals for this office. Any guiding materials used for the preparation of an appeal package should be considered responsive to, though not the entirety of, this element of this request.

6. The name and contact information for the appropriate appeal authority to whom appeals for this agency should be directed. If such information exists as part of a template letter sent to requesters, provision of this document will be considered satisfactory.

Please provide responsive materials on a rolling basis.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Beryl Lipton

From: Hawkins, Sharron

Please see attached.

From: Muckrock Staff

To Whom It May Concern:
I wanted to follow up on the following request, copied below. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response.
Thanks for your help, and let me know if further clarification is needed.

From: Amtrak

Denise P. Moore
Sr. Administrative Assistant
Amtrak | 1 Massachusetts Ave., NW | Room 620V | Washington, DC 20001
Email: denise.moore@amtrak.com<mailto:denise.moore@amtrak.com> | office: 202.906.3715 | fax: 202.906.2314

[cid:image002.png@01D39C41.C1F39610]

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This e-mail transmission may contain confidential information that is legally privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, or a person responsible for delivering it to the intended recipient, you should not read, disclose, copy, distribute, or use any of the information contained in or attached to this transmission. If you have received this transmission in error, please immediately notify me by reply e-mail or by telephone and destroy the original transmission and its attachments without reading or saving the transmission in any manner.

From: Muckrock Staff

Hello Ms. Moore,

Thanks so much for your message. I would be happy to receive the materials responsive to this request. Please let me know if you have any questions for me.

Best wishes,
Beryl

From: Amtrak


Files

pages

Close