FCC Zero-Rating / Net Neutrality Complaints

Jason Koebler filed this request with the Federal Communications Commission of the United States of America.

It is a clone of this request.

Tracking # FCC-2016-000156
Status
Rejected

Communications

From: Jason Koebler

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

Any "internet" complaints received by the FCC between August 1, 2015 and the time this request is processed for the following companies:

T-Mobile (Specific search term: "Binge On")

Verizon (Specific search term: "Go90")

Comcast (Specific search terms: "Data cap" "Data caps" "300 GB" "300" "Stream TV")

Separately, I would like any complaints that contain the words "zero-rating" "zero rating."
Finally, I'd like any net neutrality / open internet complaints filed between August 1, 2015 and the time this request is processed.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes. The documents will be used in the course of reporting for Motherboard, VICE's science and tech site.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request and I ask that this be processed under the "media" fee category. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Jason Koebler

From: foia@erulemaking.net

This message is to confirm your request submission to the FOIAonline application: View Request. Request information is as follows: (https://foiaonline.regulations.gov:443/foia/action/public/view/request?objectId=090004d280a1f200)
* Tracking Number: FCC-2016-000156
* Requester Name: Jason Koebler
* Date Submitted: 11/20/2015
* Request Status: Submitted
* Description:
This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records: Any "internet" complaints received by the FCC between August 1, 2015 and the time this request is processed for the following companies: T-Mobile (Specific search term: "Binge On") Verizon (Specific search term: "Go90") Comcast (Specific search terms: "Data cap" "Data caps" "300 GB" "300" "Stream TV") Separately, I would like any complaints that contain the words "zero-rating" "zero rating." Finally, I'd like any net neutrality / open internet complaints filed between August 1, 2015 and the time this request is processed. The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes. The documents will be used in the course of reporting for Motherboard, VICE's science and tech site. In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request and I ask that this be processed under the "media" fee category. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not. Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

From: Arthur Scrutchins

Dear Mr. Koebler:

This email responds to your recent FOIA request received by the FCC and assigned to the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau ("CGB") regarding "internet" complaints about T-Mobile, Verizon and Comcast. At your earliest convenience, please give me a call to discuss the scope of your request. Please contact me at the number listed below and be sure to leave your contact information. I look forward to hearing from you. Thanks in advance for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,
/s/
Arthur Scrutchins
Attorney-Advisor
Consumer Policy Division
CGB / FCC
202-418-2184

From: Arthur Scrutchins

Dear Mr. Koebler:

This email responds to your recent FOIA request received by the FCC and assigned to the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB). You are requesting copies of "internet" complaints received by the FCC between August 1, 2015 to November 20, 2015. about T-Mobile, Verizon and Comcast. In addition, you are seeking any net neutrality/open internet complaints filed during the same time period.

On December 10, 2015, I contacted you via email to discuss the scope of your request. However, we have received no response from you. Therefore, we will assume that you are interested in proceeding with your request and have closed the file for FOIA control number 2016-156. You may file a new request at any time.

If you consider this to be a denial of your FOIA request, you may seek review by filing an application for review with the Office of General Counsel. An application for review must be received by the Commission within 30 calendar days of the date of this letter.[1] You may file an application for review by mailing the application to Federal Communications Commission, Office of General Counsel, 445 12th St SW, Washington, DC 20554, or you may file your application for review electronically by e-mailing it to FOIA-Appeal@fcc.gov<mailto:FOIA-Appeal@fcc.gov>. Please caption the envelope (or subject line, if via e-mail) and the application itself as "Review of Freedom of Information Action" and the application should refer to FOIA No. 2016-156.

Sincerely,

Arthur D. Scrutchins
Attorney-Advisor
Consumer Policy Division
CGB / FCC
202-418-2184

[1] 47 C.F.R. §§ 0.461(j), 1.115; 47 C.F.R. § 1.7 (documents are considered filed with the Commission upon their receipt at the location designated by the Commission).

________________________________

[1] 47 C.F.R. §§ 0.461(j), 1.115; 47 C.F.R. § 1.7 (documents are considered filed with the Commission upon their receipt at the location designated by the Commission).

Files

There are no files associated with this request.