Criminal referral re: Panetta Review (Department of Justice)

Shawn Musgrave filed this request with the Department of Justice, National Security Division of the United States of America.
Tracking # 15-021
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Shawn Musgrave

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

A copy of the criminal referral/report from the CIA acting general counsel to the Department of Justice regarding the Senate Intelligence Committee

I also request that, if appropriate, fees be waived as I believe this request is in the public interest. The requested documents will be made available to the general public free of charge as part of the public information service at MuckRock.com, processed by a representative of the news media/press and is made in the process of news gathering and not for commercial usage.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Shawn Musgrave

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MRUFOIA Requests

Shawn Musgrave,

Please see the attached response to your FOIA request. Please note, your request has been assigned tracking number EMRUFOIA051214.
Thanks

MRU FOIA

From: Shawn Musgrave

Hello,

Per the below, this request has been forwarded to OIP FOIA for response. Please confirm and provide a tracking number.

Thank you.

From: OIP.IR Staff

Dear Mr. Musgrave:

Please see the attached.

Initial Request Staff
Office of Information Policy
U.S. Department of Justice
202-514-FOIA

From: Shawn Musgrave

Hello,

Per the attached letter, this request was transferred to NSD. Please advise as to its status.

Best,
Shawn Musgrave
MuckRock

From: Department of Justice, National Security Division

A letter stating the request for reduced or waived fees has been accepted.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on June 18, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #15-021.

Thank you for your help.

From: Department of Justice, National Security Division

An interim response, stating the request is being processed.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on June 18, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #15-021.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on June 18, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #15-021.

Thank you for your help.

From: Gleaves, Lani (NSD)

Mr. Shawn Musgrave
MuckRock News
DEPT MR 10770
P.O. Box 55819
Boston, MA 02205-5819

Re: FOIA/PA #15-021

Dear Mr. Musgrave:

This is in response to your email dated February 13, 2015 which was received in the National Security Division (NSD) Freedom of Information office (FOIA) on February 18, 2015.

The NSD FOIA office received your original FOIA request dated October 24, 2014 seeking "a copy of the criminal referral/report from the CIA acting general counsel to the Department of Justice regarding the Senate Intelligence Committee." The NSD FOIA office acknowledged your request on October 29, 2014.

The NSD FOIA office responded to your request on January 14, 2015 stating that we conducted a search of the NSD Counterespionage Section and located a record responsive to your request. Pursuant to Department practice, we referred the document to the originating agency for review and direct response to you.

Please find the attached copy of the response from the NSD FOIA office.

Sincerely,

Arnetta Mallory

Arnetta Mallory
FOIA Coordinator

From: MuckRock

Hello,

Please advise as to the agency to which this request was forwarded, so that I might follow up directly.

Thank you,

Shawn Musgrave
MuckRock

From: Gleaves, Lani (NSD)

Mr. Shawn Musgrave
MuckRock News
DEPT MR 10770
P.O. Box 55819
Boston, MA 02205-5819

Re: FOIA/PA #15-021

Dear Mr. Musgrave:

This is in response to your email dated February 28, 2015, which was received in the National Security Division (NSD) Freedom of Information office (FOIA) on February 28, 2015.

The NSD FOIA office received your original FOIA request dated October 24, 2014 seeking "a copy of the criminal referral/report from the CIA acting general counsel to the Department of Justice regarding the Senate Intelligence Committee." The NSD FOIA office acknowledged your request on October 29, 2014.

The NSD FOIA office responded to your request on January 14, 2015 stating that we conducted a search of the NSD Counterespionage Section and located a record responsive to your request. Pursuant to Department practice, we referred the document to the originating agency for review (Central Intelligence Agency) for a direct response to you.
Sincerely,

Arnetta Mallory

Arnetta Mallory
FOIA Coordinator

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on June 18, 2014. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #15-021.

Thank you for your help.

From: Department of Justice, National Security Division

A copy of documents responsive to the request.

From: Department of Justice, National Security Division

A cover letter granting the request and outlining any exempted materials, if any.

From: Gleaves, Lani (NSD)

Mr. Shawn Musgrave
MuckRock News
DEPT MR 10770
P.O. Box 55819
Boston, MA 02205-5819

Re: FOIA/PA #15-021

Dear Mr. Musgrave:

This is in response to your email dated June 2, 2015, which was received in the National Security Division (NSD) Freedom of Information office (FOIA) on June 2, 2015.

The NSD FOIA office received your original FOIA request dated October 24, 2014 seeking "a copy of the criminal referral/report from the CIA acting general counsel to the Department of Justice regarding the Senate Intelligence Committee." The NSD FOIA office acknowledged your request on October 29, 2014.

The NSD FOIA office responded to your request on January 14, 2015 stating that we conducted a search of the NSD Counterespionage Section and located a record responsive to your request. Pursuant to Department practice, we referred the document to the originating agency for review for a direct response to you. Please see our response to you from March 11, 2015 below.
Sincerely,

Arnetta Mallory

Arnetta Mallory
Government Information Specialist

Files

pages

Close