Complaints to FEC's Office of Inspector General

Sarah Emerson filed this request with the Federal Election Commission of the United States of America.
Tracking # 2017-058
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Sarah Emerson

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

A description of all closed complaints filed with the Federal Election Commission's Office of the Inspector General between November 8, 2016 until the time this request is processed. This includes complaints made online through "oig@fec.gov," as well as the OIG hotline and fax.

For an example of complaint descriptions previously provided to me by an OIG, please see: https://foiaonline.regulations.gov/foia/action/public/view/record?objectId=090004d281178353

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes. They will be used in the course of reporting for Motherboard, VICE's science and tech site (www.motherboard.vice.com).

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request, and I ask that this be processed in the "media" fee category. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Sarah Emerson

From: FOIA

March 8, 2017

Dear Ms. Emerson,

This email acknowledges receipt of your Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request dated March 3, 2017.

Please note that, depending upon the nature of your request, we may be able to respond to you more quickly if you are able to state your request more specifically or narrowly, either in terms of the scope of documents you have requested or by refining the time frame of your request. If you would like to discuss this option or if you have any questions, please contact the FOIA Requester Service Center at (202) 694-1650. Please include the following tracking number in all future correspondence regarding this matter – FOIA Request 2017-058.
Thank you for contacting the Federal Election Commission.

Sincerely,

Christopher Mealy
FOIA Requester Service Center

From: FOIA

Dear Ms. Emerson:
This email is a response to your Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to the Federal Election Commission (FEC), which was received in our office on March 3, 2017. Specifically, you requested "[a] description of all closed complaints filed with the Federal Election Commission's Office of the Inspector General between November 8, 2016 until the time this request is processed. This includes complaints made online through 'oig@fec.gov,' as well as the OIG hotline and fax."

We have searched our records and located a document responsive to your request. We are releasing the document in its entirety; therefore, your request is granted in full.

You may contact our FOIA Public Liaison, Kate Higginbothom, at (202) 694-1650 for any further assistance and to discuss any aspect of your request. Additionally, you may contact the Office of Government Information Services (OGIS) at the National Archives and Records Administration to inquire about the FOIA mediation services they offer. The contact information for OGIS is as follows: Office of Government Information Services, National Archives and Records Administration, 8601 Adelphi Road-OGIS, College Park, Maryland 20740-6001, e-mail at ogis@nara.gov; telephone at 202-741-5770; toll free at 1-877-684-6448; or facsimile at 202-741-5769. Thank you for contacting the FEC.

If you are not satisfied with the response to this request, you may administratively appeal by writing to the Chief FOIA Officer, Federal Election Commission, 999 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20463, or sending an e-mail to foia@fec.gov. Any such appeal should follow the guidelines set forth in the Commission's FOIA regulations at 11 C.F.R. § 4.8. Thank you for contacting the FEC.

Sincerely,

Hina Hussain
FOIA Requester Service Center

_______________________
Hina Z. Hussain
Attorney
OGC - Administrative Law
Federal Election Commission
(202) 694-1357 (p)

From: FOIA

Dear Ms. Emerson:
This email is a response to your Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to the Federal Election Commission (FEC), which was received in our office on March 3, 2017. Specifically, you requested "[a] description of all closed complaints filed with the Federal Election Commission's Office of the Inspector General between November 8, 2016 until the time this request is processed. This includes complaints made online through 'oig@fec.gov,' as well as the OIG hotline and fax."

We have searched our records and located a document responsive to your request. We are releasing the document in its entirety; therefore, your request is granted in full.

You may contact our FOIA Public Liaison, Kate Higginbothom, at (202) 694-1650 for any further assistance and to discuss any aspect of your request. Additionally, you may contact the Office of Government Information Services (OGIS) at the National Archives and Records Administration to inquire about the FOIA mediation services they offer. The contact information for OGIS is as follows: Office of Government Information Services, National Archives and Records Administration, 8601 Adelphi Road-OGIS, College Park, Maryland 20740-6001, e-mail at ogis@nara.gov; telephone at 202-741-5770; toll free at 1-877-684-6448; or facsimile at 202-741-5769. Thank you for contacting the FEC.

If you are not satisfied with the response to this request, you may administratively appeal by writing to the Chief FOIA Officer, Federal Election Commission, 999 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20463, or sending an e-mail to foia@fec.gov. Any such appeal should follow the guidelines set forth in the Commission's FOIA regulations at 11 C.F.R. § 4.8. Thank you for contacting the FEC.

Sincerely,

Hina Hussain
FOIA Requester Service Center

_______________________
Hina Z. Hussain
Attorney
OGC - Administrative Law
Federal Election Commission
(202) 694-1357 (p)

Files

pages

Close