Complaints against DHS agent Angel Echevarria

CJ Ciaramella filed this request with the Department of Homeland Security of the United States of America.
Tracking #

2014-HQNPPD-00016

Status
Completed

Communications

From: CJ Ciaramella

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Freedom of Information Act. I hereby request the following records:

Any complaints filed against Angel Echevarria, an agent of the Federal Protective Service, between the start of his employment at the department and Sep. 1, 2013.

On April 11 2008, Echevarria, an agent with the Federal Protective Service, was involved in an automobile accident. Shortly after, the other party filed a complaint with the Office of the Inspector General due to Echevarria's behavior.

On Sep. 7 2013, Florida news agencies reported Echevarria had been arrested and charged with three counts of aggravated assault with a firearm and one count of firing into an occupied vehicle.

This article should provide all the relevant background information: http://thefederalist.com/2013/10/07/at-dhs-accountability-is-just-another-word-for-looking-the-other-way/

If some of these records are disclosable and others are exempt, please provide the disclosable records and let me know the exemption(s) preventing disclosure of the
rest. Please note that according to 5 U.S.C. ยง 552(b): "Any reasonably segregable portion of a record shall be provided to any person requesting such record after deletion of the portions which are exempt under this subsection."

I also request that, if appropriate, fees be waived as I believe this request is in the public interest. The requested documents will be made available to the general public free of charge as part of the public information service at MuckRock.com, processed by a representative of the news media/press and is made in the process of news gathering and not for commercial usage.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 20 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

CJ Ciaramella

From: FOIA, NPPD

Dear Mr. Ciaramella:

RE: 2014-HQNPPD-00016

This acknowledges receipt of your October 7, 2013, Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) seeking copies of complaints filed against Federal Protective Service (FPS) Agent Angel Echevarria between the start of his employment with FPS through September 1, 2013. Your request was received in this office on October 18, 2013.
Due to the increasing number of FOIA requests received by this office, we may encounter some delay in processing your request. Per Section 5.5(a) of the DHS FOIA regulations, 6 C.F.R. Part 5, the Department processes FOIA requests according to their order of receipt. Although DHS' goal is to respond within 20 business days of receipt of your request, the FOIA does permit a 10-day extension of this time period.

Provisions of the Act allow us to recover part of the cost of complying with your request. We shall charge you for records in accordance with the DHS Interim FOIA regulations as they apply to media requestors. As a media requestor, you will be charged 10-cents a page for duplication, although the first 100 pages are free. We will construe the submission of your request as an agreement to pay up to $25.00. You will be contacted before any additional fees are accrued.

We have queried the appropriate component of DHS for responsive records. If any responsive records are located, they will be reviewed for determination of releasability. Please be assured that one of the processors in our office will respond to your request as expeditiously as possible. We appreciate your patience as we proceed with your request.

Your request has been assigned reference number 2014-HQNPPD-00016. Please refer to this identifier in any future correspondence. You may contact this office at 703-235-2211.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 7, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2014-HQNPPD-00016.

Thank you for your help.

From: FOIA, NPPD

Dear Mr. Ciaramella:

RE: 2014-HQNPPD-00016

This responds to your November 17, 2013, e-mail in which you requested an update as to the status of your Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), dated October 7, 2013, and received in this office on October 18, 2013. Your request sought copies of complaints filed against Federal Protective Service (FPS) Agent Angel Echevarria between the start of his employment with FPS through September 1, 2013. .

In our acknowledgement letter (e-mail) to you dated October 18, 2013, we advised you that, due to the increasing number of FOIA requests received by this office, and because of the federal government shutdown, we may encounter some delay in processing your request. Requests are processed in chronological order based on the date we received a perfected request.

For your information, we have queried the Federal Protective Service for responsive records. If any responsive records are located, they will be reviewed for determination of releasability. We will process your request as expeditiously as possible. Upon completion of the processing, all documents that can be released will be made available to you at the earliest possible date. We sincerely apologize for the delay you are experiencing and appreciate your continued patience.

If you have any questions or would like to discuss this matter, please feel free to contact this office at 703-235-2211.

ROCHELLE CARPENTER
DHS-NPPD FOIA
Office of Information Management

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Oct. 7, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2014-HQNPPD-00016.

Thank you for your help.

From: FOIA, NPPD

Dear Mr. Ciaramella:

RE: 2014-HQNPPD-00016

This responds to your December 18, 2013, e-mail in which you requested an update as to the status of your Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request to the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), dated October 7, 2013, and received in this office on October 18, 2013. Your request sought copies of complaints filed against Federal Protective Service (FPS) Agent Angel Echevarria between the start of his employment with FPS through September 1, 2013.

In our update status e-mail to you dated November 18, 2013, we advised you that, due to the increasing number of FOIA requests received by this office, and because of the federal government shutdown, we may encounter some delay in processing your request. Requests are processed in chronological order based on the date we received a perfected request.

For your information, your case was transferred to another office within the National Protection and Programs Directorate (NPPD) for responsive records. Responsive records have been located by this office; however, the volume of records is quite lengthy and the office is currently working through these records for release to the NPPD FOIA Office, where they will be reviewed for determination of releasability. Upon completion of the processing, all documents that can be released will be made available to you at the earliest possible date. I cannot give an approximately timeframe when these documents will be finally approved for release to you. We sincerely apologize for the delay you are experiencing and appreciate your continued patience.

If you have any questions or would like to discuss this matter, please feel free to contact this office at 703-235-2211.

ROCHELLE CARPENTER
DHS-NPPD FOIA
Office of Information Management

From: FOIA, NPPD

Password is 2014-NPFO-00016.

Sincerely,

ROCHELLE CARPENTER
DHS-NPPD
Office of Information Management

From: FOIA, NPPD

RE: 2014-HQNPPD-00016

Dear Mr. Ciaramella:

Please find attached our final response to your FOIA request.

Note: The responsive document is password protected due to personally identifiable information (PII).

PASSWORD TO FOLLOW IMMEDIATELY IN SEPARATE EMAIL

Sincerely,

ROCHELLE CARPENTER
DHS-NPPD
Office of Information Management

Files

pages

Close