Friday, April 18, 2014
 

FOI Request

Noise complaints for five Seattle center-city parks 2009-2011

Requested by pmocek on Dec. 19, 2011 for the Department of Planning and Development of Seattle, WA

Status: Fix Required , will be 27 days past due from when the fix is received


From Phil Mocek on Dec. 19, 2011:

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to RCW Ch. 42.56 (Public Records Act), I hereby request the following records:

Complaints and other reports of noise in 2009, 2010, and 2011, at Freeway Park, Myrtle Edwards Park, Steinbruek Park, Volunteer Park, and Westlake Park, responses to those reports, records of tracking and processing of those reports, and associated metadata.

I also request that, if appropriate, fees be waived as I believe this request is in the public interest. The requested documents will be made available to the general public free of charge as part of the public information service at MuckRock.com, processed by a representative of the news media/press and is made in the process of news gathering and not for commercial usage.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 5 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Phil Mocek

 
From "Vanneman, Jill" <Jill.Vanneman@seattle.gov> to Phil Mocek on Dec. 20, 2011:

Dear Mr. Mocek:

I am in the process of gathering any records that the Department might have but it is really the police department and the Parks Department who respond to noise complaints in the Parks. I have forwarded your request to those two departments and you should be hearing from them soon. I anticipate that I should have responsive documents by December 27th.

Sincerely,

Jill Vanneman
Code Compliance Coordinator
Public Disclosure Officer
700 5th Ave. Ste. 2000
P.O. Box 34019
Seattle, WA 98124-4019
(206) 733-9062

 
From MuckRock.com to Department of Planning and Development <Jill.Vanneman@seattle.gov> on Jan. 10, 2012:

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Dec. 19, 2011. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

 
From "Vanneman, Jill" <Jill.Vanneman@seattle.gov> to Phil Mocek on Jan. 10, 2012:

Sorry to have missed you. I will be out of the office January 9.

 
From Jill Vanneman to Phil Mocek on Jan. 10, 2012:

Dear Mr. Mocek:

Apparently I was not clear enough in my response. DPD does not respond to noise complaints in the Parks. I will check again but I believe that it is the police and parks departments who will have responsive records. If you have not heard from them I suggest that you contact those two departments.

Sincerely,

Jill Vanneman
Code Compliance Coordinator
Public Disclosure Officer
700 5th Ave. Ste. 2000
P.O. Box 34019
Seattle, WA 98124-4019
(206) 733-9062

 
From "SPD-PDR, SPD" <SPD.SPD-PDR@seattle.gov> to Phil Mocek on Feb. 6, 2012:

From: Friend-Gray, Sheila On Behalf Of SPD-PDR, SPD
Sent: Monday, February 06, 2012 1:24 PM
To: '974-21102514@request.muckrock.com'
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information Request: Noise complaints for five Seattle center-city parks 2009-2011

PDR # P2011-3901

Mr. Mocek:

This email is in response to your public disclosure request dated December 19, 2011 and received by the Seattle Police Department's Public Disclosure Unit on December 20, 2011 for all complaints and other reports of noise in 2009, 2010, and 2011 at Freeway Park, Myrtle Edwards Park, Steinbruek Park, Volunteer Park and Westlake Park.

In an effort to further clarify your request and expedite the Department's response, I am putting a CD in the mail to you today that includes a listing of all calls for service to the parks listed above. My intent is that by providing you with this listing, you will be able to review it and note the events that you would like reports for with the understanding that not all calls for service result in a report being generated. Therefore, please note that a report may have been generated if the column labeled "DISP" has a code of: A, B, or C.

Please respond within 30 days or by March 9, 2012. If the Department does not hear from you by the specified date, the Department will consider your request closed.

You may file a written appeal with the Chief of Police within ten (10) business days from the date of this letter. Please include your name and address and a copy of this letter together with a brief statement identifying the basis of the appeal. Please mail or deliver your appeal to:

Chief of Police
Seattle Police Department
PO Box 34986
Seattle, WA 98124-4986

If you have any questions, please contact the Public Disclosure Desk at 206-684-5481.

Thank you,
Sheila

Sheila Friend Gray
Public Request Unit Manager
Seattle Police Department
206-733-9313
Sheila.FriendGray@Seattle.gov<mailto:Sheila.FriendGray@Seattle.gov>

 
From Seattle Police Department on Feb. 6, 2012:

Fix Required
Fix Required
View | Download
A cover letter stating that additional information (a call log) is included, and that the department requests a clarification for the request.
 
From Seattle Police Department on Feb. 6, 2012:

Additional Information
Additional Information
View | Download
Additional information provided to help narrow the request.
 
  • Fix Required
  • Additional Information
 
About MuckRock

We make tools to keep our government transparent and accountable.

Want to Learn More?

Read our blog and join our mailing list.

Get in Touch

Email: info@muckrock.com