Incident commander review of 2015 Black Friday demonstrations and Westlake Center tree lighting

Phil Mocek filed this request with the Seattle Police Department of Seattle, WA.

It is a clone of this request.

Tracking # P2015-7146
Status
Completed

Communications

From: Phil Mocek

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to RCW Ch. 42.56 (Public Records Act), I hereby request the following records:

2015 Black Friday demonstrations and Westlake Center tree lighting ceremony Incident Commander's Review memorandum (a.k.a., after-action report), along with associated metadata

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 5 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Phil Mocek

From: SPD-PDR, SPD

December 9, 2015

RE: Public Disclosure Request # P2015-7146

Dear Mr. Mocek,

This letter is in response to your public disclosure request dated December 2, 2015 and received by the Seattle Police Department’s Public Disclosure Unit on December 2, 2015 for the 2015 black Friday demonstration and westlake center tree lighting ceremony incident commander’s review memorandum along with associated metadata.

Pursuant to RCW 42.56.520, this is notification that we have received your public disclosure request, and we anticipate it may take up to 11 weeks from the date of this notification to respond. Therefore we anticipate a response to you on or about February 24, 2016.

This additional time is used to research this request, collect responsive records, and/or prepare records for dissemination. Please note: Seattle Police Department currently receives approximately 4,500 public disclosure requests annually.

If you have any questions or need further assistance with this request, please contact the Public Disclosure Desk at 206-684-5481.

Sincerely,

Rodger Stephenson
Admin Specialist II
Public Disclosure Unit

From: Berger, Katelyn

Hello Mr. Mocek,

The Seattle Police Department (SPD) Legal Unit has completed the review of the first installment of requested records pertaining to your public disclosure request for the 2015 black Friday demonstration and Westlake Center tree lighting ceremony IAP and AAR. Attached, please find the requested IAP.

The following redactions have been applied to the IAP:

• Intelligence Information (pages: 7-15): Specific intelligence information which is essential to effective law enforcement is not disclosable. (RCW 42.56.240(1) and/or RCW 43.43.856) Explanation: Disclosure would reveal law enforcement techniques, capabilities, limitations, and the extent of law enforcement knowledge which would jeopardize investigations/prosecutions and/or assist individuals in criminal activity. This exemption applies to all redacted material with the exception of police frequencies. Police frequencies are redacted pursuant to the exemption cited below.
• Computer/Telecom Passwords/Security/Internal-Use Only Phone Numbers (RCW 42.56.420(4)) (pages: 7-16): Information regarding the infrastructure and security of computer and telecommunications networks, consisting of security passwords, security access codes and programs, access codes for secure software applications, security and service recovery plans, security risk assessments, and security test results is exempt because unauthorized access to the information could disrupt police operations, negatively affect police investigations, endanger citizens/law enforcement personnel, result in theft, fraud or other criminal activity, and expose law enforcement personnel to harassment.

The Legal Unit anticipates providing you with the second and final installment of records on or about March 31, 2016. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,
Katie

Katie Berger - Seattle Police Department
Legal Unit Manager
Seattle Police Headquarters
610 Fifth Avenue
P.O. Box 34986
Seattle, WA 98124-4986

Phone - 206.684.5757
Fax - 206.684.7047
E-mail - Katelyn.Berger@seattle.gov<mailto:Katelyn.Berger@seattle.gov>

[cid:image001.png@01D04131.8784BA90]

This email transmission is intended only for the addressee shown above. It may contain information that is privileged, confidential or otherwise protected from disclosure. Any review, dissemination of use of this email or its contents by persons other than the addressee is strictly prohibited. If you have received this transmission in error, please notify us immediately by telephone and delete the email.

From: Phil Mocek

Dear Ms. Berger:

Three months since I filed my request, you have provided only one record, an incident action plan, and though it is interesting, it is not responsive to my December 2, 2015, request for the 2015 Black Friday demonstrations and Westlake Center tree lighting ceremony Incident Commander's Review memorandum (a.k.a., after-action report), along with associated metadata. When do you estimate that you will provide the record I requested?

Cordially,
Phil Mocek

From: Berger, Katelyn

Hello Mr. Mocek,

This PDR (P2015-7146) was closed on 3/7/2016 as the requested IAP was provided. Please see attached emails. PDR P2015-7145 was closed on 4/1/2016 as the AAR was provided to you. Please see attached.

In conclusion, P2015-7145 and P2015-7145 are closed.

Regards,
Katie

Katie Berger | Manager
Legal Unit
Seattle Police Department
Seattle Police Headquarters
610 Fifth Avenue
P.O. Box 34986
Seattle, WA 98124-4986

Phone - 206.684.5757
Fax - 206.684.7047
E-mail - Katelyn.Berger@seattle.gov<mailto:Katelyn.Berger@seattle.gov>

[cid:image001.png@01D04131.8784BA90]

This email transmission is intended only for the addressee shown above. It may contain information that is privileged, confidential or otherwise protected from disclosure. Any review, dissemination of use of this email or its contents by persons other than the addressee is strictly prohibited. If you have received this transmission in error, please notify us immediately by telephone and delete the email.

Files

pages

Close