Newark arrest practices review materials (NPD)

Shawn Musgrave filed this request with the Newark Police Department of Newark, NJ.

It is a clone of this request.

Tracking # PD-17-0393 , LAW-17-0012
Est. Completion Sept. 25, 2017
Status
No Responsive Documents

Communications

From: Shawn Musgrave

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to Open Public Records Act ("OPRA"), I hereby request the following records:

All arrest reports provided to the Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division as part of the federal civil rights investigation into the the Newark Police Department.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 7 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Shawn Musgrave

From: Newark Police Department

An acknowledgement letter, stating the request is being processed.

From: Newark Police Department

The request has been rejected by the agency.

From: Shawn Musgrave

Ms. Golinski, Mr. Louis, and Ms. Natim -

Thank you for your quick response to my request. I do appreciate it.

I believe there may be some confusion over the arrest reports I've requested. I seek the 100 reports provided to the Justice Department, as described in the 2014 report from the DOJ's Civil Rights Division (see attached, or online here: https://www.justice.gov/sites/default/files/crt/legacy/2014/07/22/newark_findings_7-22-14.pdf), many findings were based on a review of NPD arrest reports.

The following excerpts from the 2014 report provide additional information as to the sample of reports provided to the Justice Department, including dates and timeframe:

p. 12: "This assessment of NPD arrest practices is based on: a review of a random sample of 100 arrest reports and associated incident reports from a three-and-a-half year period, January 2009 to June 2012."

p. 15: "Out of a sample of 100 reports documenting NPD arrests between January 2009 and June 2012, 58 documented arrests on narcotics-related charges. "

I hope this clarifies. Please let me know if I can provide any further information to assist you in completing my request. I have left my cell phone number in a voicemail earlier today with Ms. Golinski, if it would be easier to discuss this further over the phone.

Best,
Shawn Musgrave

From: Newark Police Department

An interim response, stating the request is being processed.

From: Shawn Musgrave

Ms. Golinski -

Thank you for transferring me just now to the clerk processing my request. That clerk and I agreed to modify this request to arrest reports given to Department of Justice, rather than those particular 100 that the DOJ relied upon in assessing the NPD. The clerk — I apologize, but my telephone connection was poor, so I did not catch his name — indicated that this would be a more manageable request since it does not require your office to determine which sample of requests the DOJ used for its assessment.

Thanks so much again for your help with this. Your office has been very helpful!

Have a great weekend,
Shawn

From: Newark Police Department

An interim response, stating the request is being processed.

From: Newark Police Department

An interim response, stating the request is being processed.

From: Caitlin Russell

Ms. Golinski -

Thank you for transferring me just now to the clerk processing my request. That clerk and I agreed to modify this request to arrest reports given to Department of Justice, rather than those particular 100 that the DOJ relied upon in assessing the NPD. The clerk — I apologize, but my telephone connection was poor, so I did not catch his name — indicated that this would be a more manageable request since it does not require your office to determine which sample of requests the DOJ used for its assessment.

Thanks so much again for your help with this. Your office has been very helpful!

Have a great weekend,
Shawn

From: Newark Digital Solutions

THIS EMAIL ADDRESS IS NOT MONITORED

Attachment File Type: PDF

Device Location: 920 Broad St. Room 415A Fax 9733538464
Device Serial Number: E2B649828
Device IP Address: 172.16.17.250

From: Lara, Soraida

Mr. Musgrave:

This response may be duplicated. Please disregard if you have already received it. Please confirm receipt of this Email
Regards,
Soraida Lara
From the Office of the City Clerk , OPra Unit

Files

pages

Close