NYPD social networking reviews

Shawn Musgrave filed this request with the New York City Police Department of New York City, NY.
Tracking # 15PL1324
Est. Completion None
Status
No Responsive Documents

Communications

From: Shawn Musgrave

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to the New York State Freedom of Information Law (1977 N.Y. Laws ch. 933), I hereby request the following records:

Final reports and/or summaries of findings from all reviews of NYPD officers' social networking use conducted within the past 5 years .

Per a May 2013 review published by the Department of Justice and the Police Executive Research Forum (available online here: http://www.policeforum.org/assets/docs/Free_Online_Documents/Technology/social%20media%20and%20tactical%20considerations%20for%20law%20enforcement%202013.pdf): "In a recent review of its officers’ social networking use, the NYPD found that 72 percent of its social networking use was by the detective bureau."

I also request that, if appropriate, fees be waived as I believe this request is in the public interest. The requested documents will be made available to the general public free of charge as part of the public information service at MuckRock.com, processed by a representative of the news media/press and is made in the process of news gathering and not for commercial usage.

In the event that fees cannot be waived, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 5 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Shawn Musgrave

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Feb. 5, 2015. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: New York City Police Department

An acknowledgement letter, stating the request is being processed.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Feb. 5, 2015. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2015-PL-1324.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Feb. 5, 2015. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2015-PL-1324.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Feb. 5, 2015. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2015-PL-1324.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Feb. 5, 2015. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #2015-PL-1324.

Thank you for your help.

From: New York City Police Department

The request has been rejected as being too vague, burdensome or otherwise unprocessable.

From: Shawn Musgrave

Jonathan David, Records Access Appeals Officer
New York City Police Department
One Police Plaza, Room 1406
New York, NY 10038

Mr. David -

This is an appeal for the NYPD's response to FOIL 2015-PL-1324, in which I requested:

Final reports and/or summaries of findings from all reviews of NYPD officers' social networking use conducted within the past 5 years.

In the response letter dated May 11, 2015 (enclosed), the NYPD FOIL office determined that I had not provided enough information to allow it to locate the requested documents. However, I provided a reference to a joint Justice Department/Police Executive Research Forum report which cited one such review. At minimum, the FOIL office should have been able to locate that review based on information provided in my initial letter.

Within that same May 2013 report, DOJ and PERF thanked the following individuals within the NYPD: "And we would like to extend special thanks for our site visit to the New York Police Department, especially to Deputy Commissioner Mike Farrell, Deputy Inspector Dennis Fulton, and all who worked with us."

Based on the above information, I respectfully request that you remand this request for a good faith search and provision of the cited review, at minimum, as well as any other responsive documents.

Respectfully,

Shawn Musgrave
Reporter, MuckRock

From: New York City Police Department

A no responsive documents response.

From: New York City Police Department

A letter stating that the request appeal has been succesful.

From: New York City Police Department

A letter stating that the request appeal has been succesful.

From: New York City Police Department

A no responsive documents response.

Files

pages

Close