Manchester NH PD Citizen Complaints

Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer filed this request with the Manchester Police Department of Manchester, NH.
Due Aug. 29, 2017
Est. Completion None
Status
Awaiting Response

Communications

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to the New Hampshire "Access to Government Records and Meetings" Statute (RSA Ch. 91-A), I hereby request the following records:

We are Economics Professors in the College of Business at Ferris State University, and are engaged in an empirical research project on police behavior and citizen complaints. This project requires us to request data from your department. If you have questions about this request or suggestions, we would be happy to discuss them with you.

1. What is the total number of citizen complaints (allegations of misconduct) made against your department’s officers annually for 2007-2010 and 2013-2017? We have your annual report (that contains citizen complaints) but only for 2011 and 2012. A copy of that report for 2007-2010 & 2013-2017 would suffice. If your department logs complaints in a database, spreadsheet, or other log, a copy of those logs is fine instead.

Please include the type of complaint (i.e., use of force, abuse language, unwarranted search) and the result of complaint (i.e., sustained, exonerated).

2. What is the total number of complaints police officers made against their peer officers in department annually for the last 10 years? If your department logs complaints in a database, spreadsheet, or other log, a copy of those logs is fine instead.

Please include the type of complaint (i.e., use of force, abuse language, unwarranted search) and the result of complaint (i.e., sustained, exonerated).

3. How many officer-involved-shootings were there per year for the last 10 years in your department? Any documentation or reports that detail the annual number of officer-involved shootings in your department for the past 10 years would be sufficient.

Please include documentation regarding how many of these officer-involved shootings involved disciplinary action. (Please list officer firearm discharge directed at a person separately from a shooting involving an animal and separately from accidental firearm discharges).

Please include the number of officer-involved shootings resulting in discipline.

4. Which of the above data are published publicly? Please provide a link to any and all publicly available reports containing the data above.

Collecting this information is very important to our research, so we would like to emphasize, if you have questions about my request or suggestions, we would be happy to discuss them with you.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 5 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

From: Tessier, Maureen

We are in receipt of your request and will be compiling the data for you. I anticipate it will take several days. I have CC’d Records Specialist Gina Charbonneau who should be your point of contact on this request moving forward.
Thanks!

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

Thank you. I will await your response.

Respectfully,
Alex Cartwright

From: CHARBONNEAU, Gina

Hello Alex Cartwright,

All of your information and invoices were sent to Muckrock yesterday via US Mail. You should receive them in two envelopes. Please let me know when you receive them both.

My direct e-mail: gcharbon@manchesternh.gov<mailto:gcharbon@manchesternh.gov>
My direct phone line: 603-792-5482
Manchester Police Department address: 405 Valley Street, Manchester, NH 03103.

Thank you,

Gina Charbonneau
Manchester Police Department
Records Division
Phone 603-792-5482

From: CHARBONNEAU, Gina

Hi Caitlin,

All of the files and invoices were mailed (US Mail) directly to Muckrock. Please see e-mail (below) sent on Monday to Alex Cartwright.

Thank you,

Gina Charbonneau
Manchester Police Department
Records Division
Phone 603-792-5482

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

Thank you.

From: MuckRock

Hello Ms. Charbonneau,

This message is intended to let you know that as of today - Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - the materials that were sent by your office have still not been received. We'll be sure to let you know when they've arrived.

Thank you for your help.

Best wishes,
Beryl, MuckRock

From: CHARBONNEAU, Gina

Hello Beryl,

The files were confirmed as received by Melissa Gira Grant on 08/17/17.

On 08/17/17, I mailed the files (involving e-mails of Officer Eric Tracy and Carlo Capano) to Muckrock via US mail to the attention of Alex Cartwright. After mailing them via US mail, I then spoke with Melissa Gira Grant (on the telephone), and I e-mailed the files directly to her, and she confirmed that she received them via e-mail.

If you would like to speak to me directly, please call me at 603-792-5482.

Thank you,

Gina Charbonneau
Manchester Police Department
Records Division
Phone 603-792-5482

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

Hello Ms. Charbonneau,

I have not received the documents. Considering that ample time for delivery has passed, could you please send them again?

Very Respectfully,
Alex Cartwright

From: WeTransfer

gcharbon@manchesternh.gov sent you some files

1 file, 83.6 MB in total
・ Will be deleted on 18 September, 2017

Download link:
https://wetransfer.com/downloads/ff36c75dc64713498adc43bc7ccbb44520170911204416/e1931f3b0febf3d29c7f445760fea4db20170911204416/aafebe

Message:
Hello Mr. Cartwright,

Here are the Officer Tracy/Capano e-mail files. There might be a problem with the
connection between your e-mail and my e-mail, so I will try to send them this way, through
an Internet website for large files.
Your company has confirmed receipt of these files and has already paid for them with two
checks totaling $139.00, so there is no need for you to send payment.

Thank you,
Gina Charbonneau
Manchester Police Department
Records Division
Phone 603-792-5482

1 file

09-11-17 Muckrock - Tracy-Capano e-mails - ALL ON ONE BIG FILE.pdf

Get more out of WeTransfer, get [Plus](https://wetransfer.com/plus?trk=WT201704_email&utm_campaign=WT_email_tracking&utm_content=general&utm_medium=plus_footer_ad_link&utm_source=notify_recipient_email)

About WeTransfer: https://wetransfer.com/about
Help: https://wetransfer.zendesk.com/hc/en-us
Legal: https://wetransfer.com/legal/terms

To make sure our emails arrive, please add noreply@wetransfer.com to [your contacts](https://wetransfer.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/204909429).

From: Alpha Assistance

Documents provided by agency.

  • 09-11-1720Muckrock20-20Tracy-Capano20e-mails20-20ALL20ON20ONE20BIG20FILE.pdf

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

Hello,

I cannot get the link you provided to work & the documents I received seem to be about housing & HUD policies. I believe I was sent the incorrect documents by accident. Could you please re-send a copy of what was originally intended for me?

Very Respectfully,
Alex Cartwright

Files

pages

Close