Jacksonville, FL PD Citizen Complaints

Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer filed this request with the Jacksonville Police Department of Jacksonville, FL.
Tracking # M033281-090117
Est. Completion None
Status
Payment Required

Communications

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

Hello,

We have your professional standards reports for 2008-2012; this report satisfied all elements of our request. Could you please send along a copy of the report for 2007 & for 2013-2017? If this reports are unavailable, please send the information requested in our previous letter.

Thank you.

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to Florida's Sunshine Law (Fla. Stat. secs. 119.01 to 119.15 (1995)), I hereby request the following records:

We are Economics Professors in the College of Business at Ferris State University, and are engaged in an empirical research project on police behavior and citizen complaints. This project requires us to request data from your department. If you have questions about this request or suggestions, we would be happy to discuss them with you.

1. What is the total number of citizen complaints (allegations of misconduct) made against your department’s officers annually for the last 10 years? If your department logs complaints in a database, spreadsheet, or other log, a copy of those logs is fine instead.

Please include the type of complaint (i.e., use of force, abuse language, unwarranted search) and the result of complaint (i.e., sustained, exonerated).

2. What is the total number of complaints police officers made against their peer officers in department annually for the last 10 years? If your department logs complaints in a database, spreadsheet, or other log, a copy of those logs is fine instead.

Please include the type of complaint (i.e., use of force, abuse language, unwarranted search) and the result of complaint (i.e., sustained, exonerated).

3. What is the total number of calls for service your department received annually for the past 10 years? If your department logs calls for service in a database, spreadsheet, or other log, a copy of those logs is fine instead.

4. How many officer-involved-shootings were there per year for the last 10 years in your department? Any documentation or reports that detail the annual number of officer-involved shootings in your department for the past 10 years would be sufficient.

Please include documentation regarding how many of these officer-involved shootings involved disciplinary action. (Please list officer firearm discharge directed at a person separately from a shooting involving an animal and separately from accidental firearm discharges).

Please include the number of officer-involved shootings resulting in discipline.

5. Which of the above data are published publicly? Please provide a link to any and all publicly available reports containing the data above.

Collecting this information is very important to our research, so we would like to emphasize, if you have questions about my request or suggestions, we would be happy to discuss them with you.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I would request your response within ten (10) business days.

Sincerely,

Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

From: JSO - GovQA

Dear MUCK ROCK NEWS:
Thank you for your interest in public records of Jacksonville Sheriff's Office.  Your request has been received and is being processed.  Your request was received in this office on 9/1/2017 and given the reference number M033281-090117 for tracking purposes.
Your request will be forwarded to the relevant person(s) to locate the information you seek and to determine the volume and any costs associated with satisfying your request.  You will be contacted about the availability and/or provided with copies of the records in question.
To monitor the progress or update this request please log into the
Public Records Center. (https://jacksonvilleso.mycusthelp.com/WEBAPP/_rs/RequestEdit.aspx?rid=33281&coid=)

From: JSO - GovQA

Hello,

Unfortunately your email was not recognized and has not been routed accordingly.  Please be advised that if you wish to submit a new request or check on the status of an already submitted request, you should visit the Public Records Center. Description: TO: [jacksonvilleso@mycusthelp.net]September 18, 2017Jacksonville Police DepartmentJacksonville Sheriff's Office ATTN: Public Information Officer501 E. Bay Street, Jacksonville, FL 32202This is a follow up to request number M033281-090117:To Whom It May Concern:I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Aug. 14, 2017. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #M033281-090117.Thanks for your help, and let me know if further clarification is needed.

From: JSO - GovQA

--- Please respond above this line ---

RE: PUBLIC RECORDS REQUEST of August 09, 2017, Reference # P029377-080917

Dear ,

Jacksonville Sheriff's Office received a public records request from you on August 09, 2017. You requested the following:
REQUEST FOR SUNSHINE LAW: PROPUBLICA: HATE CRIMES DATA.Any database or other records of hate crimes or crimes evidence bias of race, color, ancestry, ethnicity, religion, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin or disability reported to or investigated by your agency since 0/01/2010, inc., where available but not limited to: (see atth)

After a diligent search, our office has located no records which are responsive to your request.

Thank you for your patience in awaiting this information.

Sincerely,

75188 BBB
Public Records Coordinator
Public Records
To monitor the progress or update this request please log into the
Public Records Center. (https://jacksonvilleso.mycusthelp.com/WEBAPP/_rs/RequestEdit.aspx?rid=29377&coid=)

From: JSO - GovQA

Hello,

Unfortunately your email was not recognized and has not been routed accordingly.  Please be advised that if you wish to submit a new request or check on the status of an already submitted request, you should visit the Public Records Center. Description: TO: [jacksonvilleso@mycusthelp.net]September 22, 2017Jacksonville Police DepartmentJacksonville Sheriff's Office ATTN: Public Information Officer501 E. Bay Street, Jacksonville, FL 32202This is a follow up to request number M033281-090117:To Whom It May Concern:I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on Aug. 14, 2017. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed. You had assigned it reference number #M033281-090117.Thanks for your help, and let me know if further clarification is needed.---On Sept. 22, 2017:

This is an auto-generated email and has originated from an unmonitored email account. Please DO NOT REPLY.

From: JSO - GovQA

--- Please respond above this line ---

RE: PUBLIC RECORDS REQUEST of September 01, 2017, Reference # M033281-090117

Dear ,

Jacksonville Sheriff's Office received a public records request from you on September 01, 2017. You requested the following:
See attached Request reference statistics on complaints.

After a diligent search, our office has located no records which are responsive to your request.  No such list/document exists and at this time, The Jacksonville Sheriff's Office (JSO) . F.S.S.119.011(12) will not be creating a document specific to your requests

Thank you for your patience in awaiting this information.

Sincerely,

76070LMJ
Public Records Coordinator
Public Records
To monitor the progress or update this request please log into the
Public Records Center. (https://jacksonvilleso.mycusthelp.com/WEBAPP/_rs/RequestEdit.aspx?rid=33281&coid=)

From: JSO - GovQA

--- Please respond above this line ---

RE: PUBLIC RECORDS REQUEST of August 09, 2017, Reference # P029377-080917

Dear ,

Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office received a public records request from you on August 09, 2017. You requested the following:
REQUEST FOR SUNSHINE LAW: PROPUBLICA: HATE CRIMES DATA. Any database or other records of hate crimes or crimes evidence bias of race, color, ancestry, ethnicity, religion, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, national origin or disability reported to or investigated by your agency since 0/01/2010, inc., where available but not limited to: (see atth)
Please be advised that due to retention schedules we will only be able to provide records back to October 2012. This request will require a multi-step estimate. The 1 st estimate is to identify & pull the incident numbers. The estimated total cost to pull the incident numbers is $43.18. The next step will be to pull the reports associated with the incident numbers. The estimate for this step cannot be determined until the 1 st step is paid for and completed.
***Estimated total cost includes the first half hour at no charge***

Please forward payment referencing Public Records Request # " P029377-080917" payable to "The Jacksonville Sheriff's Office" in the form of business check, personal check, cash or money order. If an account has been established with JSO, the fees may be billed to your account per your approval. Once the estimated cost has been received, we will continue to process your request and contact you if an additional payment is required. Please return this form along with payment to the below address.

JSO Tax ID# 59-6000344

Mail to:
Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Public Records Unit, Room #207 501 E. Bay St. Jacksonville, FL 32202

Thank you for your patience in awaiting this information.

Sincerely,

75188 BBB
Public Records Coordinator
Public Records
To monitor the progress or update this request please log into the
Public Records Center. (https://jacksonvilleso.mycusthelp.com/WEBAPP/_rs/RequestEdit.aspx?rid=29377&coid=)

Files

There are no files associated with this request.