Library Complaint and Censorship Records (Holyoke Public Library)

Chris Peterson filed this request with the Holyoke Public Library of Holyoke, MA .
Est. Completion None
Status
No Responsive Documents

Communications

From:

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Massachusetts Public Records Law (M. G. L. Chapter 66, Section 10) for a copy of the following records:

Copies of written and electronic complaints and challenges for removal, reclassification, or other reconsideration of publications including books, magazines, movies, websites (e.g. filtered from library computers), or other media from January 1, 2010, to present, as well as records, petitions, and correspondence related to these challenges.

We seek such records as, for example, are classified by the Massachusetts’ Supervisor of Public Records Municipal Records Retention Manual under Section 17.004: Complaint and Censorship Records, though we do not limit our request to those so classified.

According to 950 CMR 32.06(5), every custodian of records is encouraged to waive fees where disclosure would benefit the public interest, as we believe these will. This request is part of a research project by the Center for Civic Media to better understand how and why library materials are challenged in the State of Massachusetts. We are committed to open access and plan to make our findings broadly available to the public. If fees cannot be waived please inform me in advance.

We ask that, if possible, you please respond via email with text documents or clear, high-quality scanned PDFs. If you cannot reply electronically, please mail us the best quality copies you reasonably can. Your efforts helps us ensure broad accessibility and equity.

The statute requires your response to this request within 10 business days. Thank you in advance for your cooperation in helping us better understand this important aspect of the work that you do. Please feel free to email me directly if you have any further questions.

Best,

- Chris Peterson
Research Assistant
Center for Civic Media
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: City Library

Dear Mr. Peterson.

To the best of my knowledge, the Holyoke Public Library has not received
any written nor electronic complaints or challenges for removal,
reclassification, or other reconsideration of publications including
books, magazines, movies, websites (e.g. filtered from library computers),
or other media from January 1, 2010, to present.

Thank you

Maria G. Pagan,
Library Director
413-322-5640
413-313-5050 cell
413-532-4230 fax

requests@muckrock.com
04/04/2013 05:06 AM

To
library@ci.holyoke.ma.us
cc

Subject
Follow up to Freedom of Information Request: Library Complaint and
Censorship Records (Holyoke Public Library)

April 4, 2013
Holyoke Public Library
Holyoke Public Library
City Hall Auditorium
536 Dwight Street
Holyoke, MA 01040-5086

This is a follow up to a previous request:

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request,
copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me
know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification
is needed.

Thank you for your help.

---

On March 12, 2013:

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Massachusetts Public Records Law (M. G. L.
Chapter 66, Section 10) for a copy of the following records:

Copies of written and electronic complaints and challenges for removal,
reclassification, or other reconsideration of publications including
books, magazines, movies, websites (e.g. filtered from library computers),
or other media from January 1, 2010, to present, as well as records,
petitions, and correspondence related to these challenges.

We seek such records as, for example, are classified by the Massachusetts’
Supervisor of Public Records Municipal Records Retention Manual under
Section 17.004: Complaint and Censorship Records, though we do not limit
our request to those so classified.

According to 950 CMR 32.06(5), every custodian of records is encouraged to
waive fees where disclosure would benefit the public interest, as we
believe these will. This request is part of a research project by the
Center for Civic Media to better understand how and why library materials
are challenged in the State of Massachusetts. We are committed to open
access and plan to make our findings broadly available to the public. If
fees cannot be waived please inform me in advance.

We ask that, if possible, you please respond via email with text documents
or clear, high-quality scanned PDFs. If you cannot reply electronically,
please mail us the best quality copies you reasonably can. Your efforts
helps us ensure broad accessibility and equity.

The statute requires your response to this request within 10 business
days. Thank you in advance for your cooperation in helping us better
understand this important aspect of the work that you do. Please feel free
to email me directly if you have any further questions.

Best,

- Chris Peterson
Research Assistant
Center for Civic Media
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Filed via MuckRock.com
E-mail (Preferred): requests@muckrock.com

For mailed responses, please address (see note):
MuckRock News
DEPT MR 3568
PO Box 55819
Boston, MA 02205-5819

PLEASE NOTE the new address as well as the fact that improperly addressed
(i.e., with the requester's name rather than MuckRock News) requests might
be returned by the USPS as undeliverable.

Files

There are no files associated with this request.