Library Complaint and Censorship Records (Hanson Public Library)

Chris Peterson filed this request with the Hanson Public Library of Hanson, MA .
Est. Completion None
Status
No Responsive Documents

Communications

From:

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Massachusetts Public Records Law (M. G. L. Chapter 66, Section 10) for a copy of the following records:

Copies of written and electronic complaints and challenges for removal, reclassification, or other reconsideration of publications including books, magazines, movies, websites (e.g. filtered from library computers), or other media from January 1, 2010, to present, as well as records, petitions, and correspondence related to these challenges.

We seek such records as, for example, are classified by the Massachusetts’ Supervisor of Public Records Municipal Records Retention Manual under Section 17.004: Complaint and Censorship Records, though we do not limit our request to those so classified.

According to 950 CMR 32.06(5), every custodian of records is encouraged to waive fees where disclosure would benefit the public interest, as we believe these will. This request is part of a research project by the Center for Civic Media to better understand how and why library materials are challenged in the State of Massachusetts. We are committed to open access and plan to make our findings broadly available to the public. If fees cannot be waived please inform me in advance.

We ask that, if possible, you please respond via email with text documents or clear, high-quality scanned PDFs. If you cannot reply electronically, please mail us the best quality copies you reasonably can. Your efforts helps us ensure broad accessibility and equity.

The statute requires your response to this request within 10 business days. Thank you in advance for your cooperation in helping us better understand this important aspect of the work that you do. Please feel free to email me directly if you have any further questions.

Best,

- Chris Peterson
Research Assistant
Center for Civic Media
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: MuckRock.com

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request, copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification is needed.

Thank you for your help.

From: Nancy Cappellini

Fees can be waived, I do not have any documentation of requests to remove
any items from our library or am not aware of any challenges.
I may be misunderstanding what you need and for what purpose. Please advise

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: <requests@muckrock.com>
Date: Thu, May 30, 2013 at 5:00 AM
Subject: Follow up to Freedom of Information Request: Library Complaint and
Censorship Records (Hanson Public Library)
To: ncappell@sailsinc.org

May 30, 2013
Hanson Public Library
Hanson Public Library
132 Maquan St.
Hanson, MA 02341-1711

This is a follow up to a previous request:

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request,
copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me
know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification
is needed.

Thank you for your help.

---

On May 15, 2013:

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request,
copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me
know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification
is needed.

Thank you for your help.

---

On April 21, 2013:

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request,
copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me
know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification
is needed.

Thank you for your help.

---

On April 20, 2013:

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request,
copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me
know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification
is needed.

Thank you for your help.

---

On April 19, 2013:

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request,
copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me
know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification
is needed.

Thank you for your help.

---

On April 4, 2013:

To Whom It May Concern:

I wanted to follow up on the following Freedom of Information request,
copied below, and originally submitted on March 12, 2013. Please let me
know when I can expect to receive a response, or if further clarification
is needed.

Thank you for your help.

---

On March 12, 2013:

To Whom It May Concern:

This is a request under the Massachusetts Public Records Law (M. G. L.
Chapter 66, Section 10) for a copy of the following records:

Copies of written and electronic complaints and challenges for removal,
reclassification, or other reconsideration of publications including books,
magazines, movies, websites (e.g. filtered from library computers), or
other media from January 1, 2010, to present, as well as records,
petitions, and correspondence related to these challenges.

We seek such records as, for example, are classified by the Massachusetts’
Supervisor of Public Records Municipal Records Retention Manual under
Section 17.004: Complaint and Censorship Records, though we do not limit
our request to those so classified.

According to 950 CMR 32.06(5), every custodian of records is encouraged to
waive fees where disclosure would benefit the public interest, as we
believe these will. This request is part of a research project by the
Center for Civic Media to better understand how and why library materials
are challenged in the State of Massachusetts. We are committed to open
access and plan to make our findings broadly available to the public. If
fees cannot be waived please inform me in advance.

We ask that, if possible, you please respond via email with text documents
or clear, high-quality scanned PDFs. If you cannot reply electronically,
please mail us the best quality copies you reasonably can. Your efforts
helps us ensure broad accessibility and equity.

The statute requires your response to this request within 10 business days.
Thank you in advance for your cooperation in helping us better understand
this important aspect of the work that you do. Please feel free to email me
directly if you have any further questions.

Best,

- Chris Peterson
Research Assistant
Center for Civic Media
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Filed via MuckRock.com
E-mail (Preferred): requests@muckrock.com

For mailed responses, please address (see note):
MuckRock News
DEPT MR 3552
PO Box 55819
Boston, MA 02205-5819

PLEASE NOTE the new address as well as the fact that improperly addressed
(i.e., with the requester's name rather than MuckRock News) requests might
be returned by the USPS as undeliverable.

Files

There are no files associated with this request.