Dismissal of Sireen Hashem

Allan Lasser filed this request with the Board of Education of Flemington, NJ.
Status
Rejected

Communications

From: Allan Lasser

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to Open Public Records Act ("OPRA"), I hereby request the following records:

All materials regarding the dismissal of Sireen Hashem from her teaching position, including (but not limited to) complaints received from parents and community members; written decisions by and email correspondence between the members of the Board of Education, Superintendent, Principal, and Social Studies Deparment Supervisors:

* Claire Currey, ccurry@hcrhs.org
* Deborah Labbadia, dlabbadia@hcrhs.org
* Lori Blutfield, lblutfield@hcrhs.org
* John Cannizzaro, jcannizzaro1@hcrhs.org
* James Davidson, jdavidson@hcrhs.org
* Patrick Dugan, pdugan@hcrhs.org
* Karen Palestini Falk, kfalk@hcrhs.org
* Kathy Raborn, kraborn@hcrhs.org
* Paul Ransavage, pransavage@hcrhs.org
* Christina Steffner, csteffne@hcrhs.org
* Suzanne Cooley, scooley@hcrhs.org
* Robert Zywicki, (no published email)
* Rebecca Lucas, rlucas@hcrhs.org

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 7 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Allan Lasser

From: Gymlyn Corbin

*Via email (requests@muckrock.com
<requests@muckrock.com>)*

*Allan Lasser*

*MuckRock DEPT MR 24171*

*411A Highland Ave.*

*Somerville, MA 02144-2516*

*RE: August 17, 2016, OPRA Request*

*Dear Mr. Lasser:*

*The Hunterdon Central Regional High School District Board of Education
(“Board”) received an Open Public Records Act (“OPRA”) request from you.
The official Records Custodian received your OPRA request on August 18,
2016. Accordingly, this response is being timely provided to you within
seven business days from your request. As per your request, this response
is being emailed to you. *

*Your OPRA request sought the following:*

*All materials regarding the dismissal of Sireen Hashem from her teaching
position, including (but not limited to) complaints received from parents
and community members; written decisions by and email correspondence
between the members of the Board of Education, Superintendent, Principal,
and Social Studies Deparment [sic] Supervisors:*

** Claire Currey, ccurry@hcrhs.org <ccurry@hcrhs.org> * Deborah Labbadia,
dlabbadia@hcrhs.org <dlabbadia@hcrhs.org> * Lori Blutfield,
lblutfield@hcrhs.org <lblutfield@hcrhs.org> * John Cannizzaro,
jcannizzaro1@hcrhs.org <jcannizzaro1@hcrhs.org> * James Davidson,
jdavidson@hcrhs.org <jdavidson@hcrhs.org> * Patrick Dugan, pdugan@hcrhs.org
<pdugan@hcrhs.org> * Karen Palestini Falk, kfalk@hcrhs.org
<kfalk@hcrhs.org> * Kathy Raborn, kraborn@hcrhs.org <kraborn@hcrhs.org> *
Paul Ransavage, pransavage@hcrhs.org <pransavage@hcrhs.org> * Christina
Steffner, csteffne@hcrhs.org <csteffne@hcrhs.org> * Suzanne Cooley,
scooley@hcrhs.org <scooley@hcrhs.org> * Robert Zywicki, (no published
email) * Rebecca Lucas, rlucas@hcrhs.org <rlucas@hcrhs.org>*

*OPRA specifically defines a government record as follows: “... any paper,
written or printed book, document, drawing, map, plan, photograph,
microfilm, data processed or image processed document, information stored
or maintained electronically or by sound-recording or in a similar device,
or any copy thereof, that has been made, maintained or kept on file... or
that has been received in the course of his or its official business ...”
N.J.S.A. 47:1A-1.1. *

*Your request is denied for being overly broad. Please be advised that if a
request does not name specifically identifiable records or is overly broad,
a custodian may deny access. See Mag Entertainment LLC v. Division of
Alcoholic Beverage Control, 375 N.J. Super. 534 (App. Div. 2005). Your
request is further denied as it does not meet the standards set forth in
Elcavage v. West Milford Township (Passaic), GRC Complaint No. 2009-08
(April 2010) for such a request, and, accordingly, is overly broad.*

*If your request for access to a government record has been denied or
unfilled within the seven (7) business days required by law, you have a
right to challenge the decision by the Board to deny access. At your
option, you may either institute a proceeding in the Superior Court of New
Jersey or file a complaint with the Government Records Council (GRC) by
completing the Denial of Access Complaint Form. You may contact the GRC by
toll-free telephone at 866-850-0511, by mail at P.O. Box 819, Trenton, NJ
08625, or by e-mail at grc@dca.state.nj.us <grc@dca.state.nj.us>, or at
their website at www.state.nj.us/grc <http://www.state.nj.us/grc>. The GRC
can also answer other questions about the law. All questions regarding
complaints filed in Superior Court should be directed to the Court Clerk in
your County. *

*Sincerely, *

*Gymlyn Corbin*

*School Business Administrator/Board Secretary*

Files

There are no files associated with this request.