Columbia SC, PD Citizen Complaints

Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer filed this request with the Columbia Police Department of Columbia, SC.
Due Aug. 10, 2017
Est. Completion None
Status
Awaiting Response

Communications

From: Alexander Cartwright

To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, I hereby request the following records:

Dear Sir or Madam,

I am an Economics Professor in the College of Business at Ferris State University, and I am engaged in an empirical research project on police behavior and citizen complaints. This project requires me to request data from your department. If you have questions about my request or suggestions, I would be happy to discuss them with you.

I have the Columbia "Internal Affairs report for 2015-2017, but am unable to locate a copy of that report for previous years. Would you please send me that report for years 2007-2014?

Collecting this information is very important to my research, so I would like to emphasize, if you have questions about my request or suggestions, I would be happy to discuss them with you.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 15 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Alexander Cartwright

From: Alexander Cartwright and Jennifer Dirmeyer

I am writing to follow up on my original request made on 7/20/17

Thank you very much for providing the information we requested. I am writing to ask for some clarification regarding the data on officer-involved shootings you provided us with. What constitutes an officer-involved shooting in your department? For example, some departments do not count misses while others count all discharges; some include shots at animals. Other departments include intentional and accidental shootings; others do not. Please explain to us how your department classifies the OIS included in the numbers you sent to us.

Very Respectfully, Alex Cartwright

From: Columbia Police Department

Good Morning,

Thank you for contacting the City of Columbia Attorney's Office. Your request for information pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, S.C. Code § 30-4-10 et. seq., has been received and forwarded to the appropriate department for review. Please be advised that § 30-4-30(b) of the South Carolina Code authorizes a public body to "establish and collect fees" for providing information pursuant to a Freedom of Information Act request. Prior to providing pertinent documentation, we will notify you of any fees associated with your request.

Once all documentation has been compiled and reviewed, non-exempt documents will be forwarded to you within 30 days, unless otherwise stated.

Effective May 19, 2017, it is a crime to knowingly obtain or use information obtained from a public body for commercial solicitation, S.C. Code § 30-2-50 et. seq.

Please feel free to contact our office if we may be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

[cid:image002.jpg@01D542D4.1408AAF0]Lawanda K. Richardson
Legal Assistant, Office of the City Attorney
P.O. Box 667
1401 Main St, Columbia, SC 29202
Main Office: 803.737.0000 |Fax: 803-737-4258
FOIA@columbiasc.net<mailto:FOIA@columbiasc.net>

City of Columbia E-Mail Address Change Notice:

The City of Columbia will be updating our e-mail address format and moving from columbiasc.net to columbiasc.gov. Please make note and update contact information accordingly.

From: Columbia Police Department

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for contacting the City of Columbia Attorney’s Office. Your request for information pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, S.C. Code § 30-4-10 et. seq., has been received and forwarded to the appropriate department for review. Please be advised that § 30-4-30(b) of the South Carolina Code authorizes a public body to “establish and collect fees” for providing information pursuant to a Freedom of Information Act request. Prior to providing pertinent documentation, we will notify you of any fees associated with your request.

Once all documentation has been compiled and reviewed, non-exempt documents will be forwarded to you within 30 days, unless otherwise stated.

Effective May 19, 2017, it is a crime to knowingly obtain or use information obtained from a public body for commercial solicitation, S.C. Code § 30-2-50 et. seq.

Please feel free to contact our office if we may be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

[cid:image002.jpg@01D567CF.269EA500]Lawanda K. Richardson
Legal Assistant, Office of the City Attorney
P.O. Box 667
1401 Main St, Columbia, SC 29202
Main Office: 803.737.0000 |Fax: 803-737-4258
FOIA@columbiasc.net<mailto:FOIA@columbiasc.net>

From: Columbia Police Department

Good Afternoon,

Your request for information pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, S.C. Code 30-4-10 et seq., concerning the above-referenced matter was received in the City of Columbia Attorney’s Office on July 25, 2019.

The Freedom of Information Act, S.C. Code 30-4-10 et seq., merely requires that a public body release public records. It does not require a public body to respond to questions. Your correspondence does not include a request for documents; thus, the City of Columbia is not required to and declines to answer your submitted questions.

If you would like to amend your request, please feel free to do so and our office will review the amended request for processing.

Please feel free to contact me if I may be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

[cid:image002.jpg@01D567CF.AAF4F890]Lawanda K. Richardson
Legal Assistant, Office of the City Attorney
P.O. Box 667
1401 Main St, Columbia, SC 29202
Main Office: 803.737.0000 |Fax: 803-737-4258
FOIA@columbiasc.net<mailto:FOIA@columbiasc.net>

Files