Officer Complaints

Dhruv Mehrotra filed this request with the Beacon City Police Department of Beacon, NY.
Due July 16, 2020
Est. Completion None
Status
Awaiting Response

Communications

From: Dhruv Mehrotra


To Whom It May Concern:

Pursuant to the New York Freedom of Information Law, I hereby request the following records:

On Monday June 8th in a workshop with City Council, Beacon Police Department Chief Junjulas mentioned that in the last 2 years there have 8 personnel complaints. Chief Junjulas also mentioned that when a complaint is filed, the captain conducts and investigation. I am requesting a list of all complaints and personnel complaints filed against law enforcement officers in the Beacon Police Department from January 1, 2017 to present (June 9, 2020). I am also requesting any interviews, documentation, and the final report produced while investigating each complaint.

Responsive documents might includes, but are not necessarily limited to, the following information:

-date of complaint
-date of incident
-description of complaint
-description of resolution or disciplinary action taken
-name of officer complaint was filed against
-badge number of officer complaint was filed against
-final report about the complaint
- outcome of complaint

I also am requesting expedited processing as these records will help contextualize Beacon Police's recent statements regarding the ongoing local protests over the killing of George Floyd.

The requested documents will be made available to the general public, and this request is not being made for commercial purposes.

In the event that there are fees, I would be grateful if you would inform me of the total charges in advance of fulfilling my request. I would prefer the request filled electronically, by e-mail attachment if available or CD-ROM if not.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation in this matter. I look forward to receiving your response to this request within 5 business days, as the statute requires.

Sincerely,

Dhruv Mehrotra

From:

Thank you for submitting a request for records. Your request has been forwarded to the appropriate department(s), and we will respond within 20 business days.

Your request security key is 972037.
Your request reference number is PFD-60-2020

The status of your request can be tracked here: Request Number: PFD-60-2020


Please have this security key and reference number available when communicating with our staff regarding your request.

Note: This is an automated email notification. Please do not respond to this email.

From:

Thank you for submitting a request for records. Your request has been forwarded to the appropriate department(s), and we will respond within 20 business days.

Your request security key is 324684.
Your request reference number is PFD-61-2020

The status of your request can be tracked here: Request Number: PFD-61-2020


Please have this security key and reference number available when communicating with our staff regarding your request.

Note: This is an automated email notification. Please do not respond to this email.

From: Beacon City Police Department

I am writing as a follow up to my email, dated June 10, 2020 concerning your FOIL request, received on June 9th. Due to the voluminous nature of your request, the City is still reviewing its records and will respond to your request within twenty (20) business days (August 7, 2020).

Sincerely,

Iola C.Taylor

Records Access Officer

From: Beacon City Police Department

I am writing as a follow up to my email, dated June 10, 2020 concerning your FOIL request, received on June 9th. Due to the voluminous nature of your request, the City is still reviewing its records and will respond to your request within twenty (20) business days (August 7, 2020).

Sincerely,

Iola C.Taylor

Records Access Officer

From: Beacon City Police Department

I am writing as a follow up to my email, dated July 10, 2020 concerning your FOIL request, received on June 9th. Due to the voluminous nature of your request, the City is still reviewing its records and will respond to your request within twenty (20) business days (September 4, 2020).

Sincerely,

Iola C.Taylor

Records Access Officer

From: Beacon City Police Department

I am writing as a follow up to my email, dated July 10, 2020 concerning your FOIL request, received on June 9th. Due to the voluminous nature of your request, the City is still reviewing its records and will respond to your request within twenty (20) business days (September 4, 2020).

Sincerely,

Iola C.Taylor

Records Access Officer

From: Beacon City Police Department

September 4, 2020

Via E-Mail

Dhruv Mehrotra

MuckRock News DEPT MR

94890 411A Highland Ave

Somerville, MA 02144

Re: Freedom of Information Law Request PFD 60-2020

Dear Dhruv Mehrotra:

I am writing in response to your request, dated June 10, 2020 and received the same date, in which you sought certain records from the City of Beacon (the “City”) under New York Freedom of Information Law (“FOIL”), Public Officers Law Article 6. I previously acknowledged receipt of your FOIL request by e-mail, dated June 10, 2020.

Due to the voluminous nature of your request and the complexity/time consuming nature of the review of such records to determine if they must be withheld, produced or redacted, the City requires additional time to compile and review the records responsive to your June 10, 2020 FOIL request. The City expects such records to be available, to the extent they exist and are accessible under FOIL, within ninety (90) calendar days of today (December 3, 2020).

Thank you for your attention.

Very truly yours,

Amanda C. Caputo

Deputy City Clerk

Records Access Officer

From: Beacon City Police Department

September 4, 2020

Via E-Mail

Dhruv Mehrotra

MuckRock News DEPT MR

94890 411A Highland Ave

Somerville, MA 02144

Re: Freedom of Information Law Request PFD 61-2020

Dear Dhruv Mehrotra:

I am writing in response to your request, dated June 10, 2020 and received the same date, in which you sought certain records from the City of Beacon (the “City”) under New York Freedom of Information Law (“FOIL”), Public Officers Law Article 6. I previously acknowledged receipt of your FOIL request by e-mail, dated June 10, 2020.

Due to the voluminous nature of your request and the complexity/time consuming nature of the review of such records to determine if they must be withheld, produced or redacted, the City requires additional time to compile and review the records responsive to your June 10, 2020 FOIL request. The City expects such records to be available, to the extent they exist and are accessible under FOIL, within ninety (90) calendar days of today (December 3, 2020).

Thank you for your attention.

Very truly yours,

Amanda C. Caputo

Deputy City Clerk

Records Access Officer

From: Dhruv Mehrotra

Thanks Amanda, I just want to clear up something. Chief Junjalas mentioned that there were only 8 personnel complaints in the last two years. Am I to understand that this request will produce a "complex" and "voluminous" amount of records? If this is the case could I suggest that we schedule a phone call to discuss how to limit the complexity of the request

Best
Dhruv

Files

There are no files associated with this request.